Reality hit

Just back from my lovely holiday I really really need a break again. On arriving back I found my work calender filled to the brim. Some of it was expected, some of it was not and the little time left free filled itself up very very quickly.

I had expected that work would send me to Berlin this week for two days. For the first time this overlapped with SOs business travel. He left on Tuesday to return to an empty home on Thursday. I left very early Thursday morning to catch my flight and returned late on Friday evening. It was not an easygoing week, but full on and stressed. Now it is not a complaint really. It is life as it happens. Most people returned from their holidays all guns blazing while we were traveling in Scotland. So that is the nature of work, but it does mean that you have to get your brain into gear faster than most people after a holiday.

The good things this week though were getting back into my routines of yoga, walking and sewing (class). Just catching up with my friends there and generally just doing my own thing again. And reality is, it is also nice to feel that they appreciate your work and want you to be involved in a lot of things.

The trip to Berlin was memorable as the taxi driver drove me to the wrong address! I had given him the correct one, but he was on the phone chatting and somehow the address morphed into a different one. So I ended up with a sightseeing Berlin drive, I really saw a lot of what we saw in our 2008 holiday there. So I did not mind as I was on time for my meeting. And yes the driver did stop the meter, when he discovered his own stupidity. It was fun exchanging Scottish stories with my German colleague. He’d been to the tattoo and wanted to hear about the gathering and vice versa.

I have been involved in this international group, that I had the meeting with, for years. So that means that there is always a need to catch up over other stuff than work before and after the meeting. A lot of that is done over the dinner table where there is a good atmosphere and people gel in a different way, which often helps in meetings to smooth things over. But also means late nights and early starts. It is the same for SO on international meetings.

Arriving home I was exhausted and SO was still pretty tired as well. We just collapsed into bed and slept. This weekend will be pretty busy as well but as of next week things should be back to relative normality – busy but manageable.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends, Home life, Stuff, Work and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

