Soupaholic

For lunch at work I like having some soup. Certainly in winter it is nice to have something that is warm and I really like soups. The thing is in the company restaurant the soup is the instant type. They do try to make the best out of it by adding stuff, but it remains clear that this is instant soup. The most annoying thing about instant soup is that it is high in salt. In fact often very high in salt. I rate that as a problem higher than lumps to be honest. People occasionally complain that it is too watery and then it becomes even more salty, which is where we are now. I really really dislike salty foods though so it has happened on more than one occasion that I just left it as is.

So I started to develop a soup plan. I wanted to get into making my own soup, which I am pretty decent at and take it to work. Probably not a 100% score as that would be rather time consuming. I wanted to be able to have soup and actually enjoying the flavour. Besides soup is not hard to make, it takes time, but not much effort. But how to get soup from home to work? Well that was an issue. I did not want a glass lined vacuum flask, but something a bit more sturdy and if possible not a cylinder but wide mouthed. The challenge was on, but I did not find it. Google was not my friend in this instance.

Until I walked into the bever, which is our favourite outdoor store. It is where we buy our shoes, jackets and many other outdoorsy gadgets. There I saw what I wanted in the form of a food jug. At the time we were due to go to Scotland so there was no immediate need and I left if as “will get when back” item. Which in our lives means often much much later.

Since we got back we haven’t had any day of the weekend to ourselves. So when we managed to get one and saw that the next weekend totally to ourselves will not be until November we decided to enjoy it. When we say we are not doing anything it is us-speak for let’s do some things that have been on our to do list way too long. For some odd reason this usually involves a level of shopping. Same today. When we go shopping in the next town over we always try to be there by 10.00. That is when the stores open on Saturday and when we are some of the first people there.

So by 11.15 I had my food jug. This because we needed to start strategically at the Nespresso boutique where we were just about the first customer. Anyway I digress, the question is, what use is this experiment without the main ingredient; home made soup? Pretty useless I’d say. So currently on the stove there is a huge pot of what will end up as soup. So far so good. Tuesday will be my final installment of this tour-de-soup experiment. Monday I am working at home so no need for transport.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Food, Home life, shopping, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soupaholic

  1. Pingback: One meal, twice fun | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

