One meal, twice fun

A year or so ago there was the Great British Food Revival on the BBC. Hearty old fashioned recipes were shown and one peaked my interest Porkbelly with chestnuts. I made it for friends when they visited and they loved it so much that they asked for the recipe.

This weekend SO brought some porkbelly home from our organic butcher. As the weather was turning blustery I made it again. I served it with roast pumpkin and peppers (red and green) and SO made mashed potato. We had a lovely slow cooked meal. It is so hearty, the meat butter soft and it gives you that real homely feel that comes iwth this time of the year. The feeling of wanting to cocoon a bit.

Of course with just to two of us there was plenty left over. Both of the chestnut mixture as well as the pumpkin. What to do? I mean reheating makes it go to mush and is not that nice, but throwing away is such a waste of good food. In comes the soupaholic project. I turned it into a pumpkin chestnut soup. It is thick and creamy (added some yoghurt for that) A real autumn soup, which will find its way to work with me as well. Time to turn it into soup? 10 minutes using the blender and stock broth (also homemade).

On that the taking the soup with me is working. Things to note were, make use the container is pre-warmed with warm water before adding the soup, to avoid a huge drop in temperature. The other is make sure the soup is near to boiling when you put it into the container otherwise it will be too lukewarm at lunch. When I take both of these into account I end up with a nice warm soup, just above ready to eat temperature.
As it is successful I suspect a lot of left overs to end up as soup in our house from now on. Making this a waste reduction as well as a healthy choice option. In my opinion, perfect combination.

A shot of a pumpkin, focused on its stem.

A shot of a pumpkin, focused on its stem. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Food, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One meal, twice fun

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Sounds wonderful will definitely give this a go. 😉

    • Gilraen says:

      The porkbelly went straight onto our favourites menu once tried. Just need a lot of time for it 🙂

      • maturestudenthanginginthere says:

        Slow cooking is never a problem in this house. Will let you know how it goes. 😉

Leave a Reply

