Catching up

Yesterday, I went out for the day with my friend N. She lives a fair bit away and we don’t get to see each other often. But if we do then things are fun. It is our day and we yap as if it is going out of style.

Usually we have a purpose. Not this time. She arrived in The Hague, with me shortly after and we walked into town just to get a coffee (with apple cake of course) and the yapping started. It is as if we only saw each other the other day. From there we did a spot of shopping where I bought new brown booties. From there we went for lunch followed by a spot of shopping. found some underwear and a necklace. She bought some cupcake paper. And then there was dinner. Far too soon the day was over. I think we could have talked another day, though I suspect our throats would have objected. Strangely enough for the first time there was a lot of shop talk too. As it turns out she has been working on a project which is very close to one of mine and we are looking to see if we can work together on this one.

There are a few things I observed though. When we sat down somewhere and the second on of our glasses was empty we were asked several times if we wanted something more to drink. It felt uncomfortable I must admit.  If they come over I feel they want to free up my seat of force me to order more. Order or leave type of attitude. It felt unwelcoming, inhospitable. I was not a guest, but a walking wallet that they needed to pry open. It meant that at least in one case we walked out. I would not have minded to stay longer, just felt that they wanted to get rid of us. So we did and spent our money elsewhere.

In Scotland and I know in the rest of Britain you have to get up to get your drinks in a pub and basically if you want to sit in a corner with one glass for the whole evening that is Ok. We did it a few times on our holiday. It makes that you sit down comfortably and in my case I am then more inclined to stay and order another drink. I would love to have a real UK pub here, I sure miss that.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends, Home life, shopping, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

