Shopping with a twist

I took a me day today. I totally needed one after a health scare last week. See last week on Friday I woke up with my hand completely stiff. Initially I though I’d slept on in and I was able to move it once I got over the initial shock. However some discomfort and light pain lingered and the next few days I kept waking up with a stiff finger or wrist. Left was worse but it was both arms affected.

Not easily scared I did get worried. This was not a case of having slept on my arm, this was different. My GP put everything to rest when she found that my old neck injury was a little tense and she thought that this may have caused the never to both arms to be hyperactivated causing the pain. She suggested it would disappear within a few days, if not then come back. She was right, by Wednesday everything was feeling normal again.

Except of course than then my adrenaline dropped and little miss-good-in-a-crisis turned to custard. I always do that after keeping it all together during the crisis. That evening I decided that with a scare like this I needed some time to myself as it did affect me. So I took Friday off. Because I had a lot of negative tension and energy to get rid of I decided to make something positive out of it.

As the weather was very nice I took my kermit bike, large bags and cycled to the dairy farm which is about 10km away. The farm makes their own cheese, butter, milk and quark. I filled up my bags with some of those goodies. Then I took the long way home so I could visit the tomato grower. The tomato grower is a huge hothouse area and he has this little vending machine in front the company on the road. The tomatoes are always freshly  picked and chilled in the vending machine. The machine next to it has tomatosoup. So I took some tomatoes and soup with me. The round trip was 23 km which is a great little round I’d say. So in my fridge there are now exceedingly fresh produce and I really really like it.

It is a round I had wanted to do for some time but somehow it always fell off the radar. I used my Oregon bird to set the route using the route planner from the bicycle club, which can be exported to my bird I know the area, and know both places because of our frequent outings (skietsen). The thing is both “belong” to different skietsing routes so the part between the dairy farm and tomato grower is not an area we go through often. The bird was a real life saver. I am so glad that I did this as I can feel all negative tension has left me. May do this more often weather and time permitting.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Food, Home life, shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shopping with a twist

  1. draliman says:

    Things like that can be very worrying. I always see the worst possible scenario, so when I woke up a couple of months ago with a very sore knee and I couldn’t straighten it, I immediately began to plan my stay in hospital for major surgery. Of course, two days later it was completely fine again.

    It’s great that you have places nearby to buy such lovely fresh goods. I guess that,living in Cornwall I have that too, and there are plenty of places to pull off the road where they advertise fresh produce on little hand-made signs, but I’m afraid that my idea of “fresh” means “not frozen and still within the best before date”!

    • Gilraen says:

      Usually I agree with your idea of fresh. We have a great greengrocers for fruit and veg where we buy the fresh stuff fresh. As much as I would like to take these trips more often it is just not doable with our lives. All in all it takes two hours out of the day and the dairy farm is only opened a few hours a week. So it is and will remain the occasional splurge to make us feel good.

  2. Pingback: nice weekend | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

