What plan?

This weekend had everything in it to not go according to any plan, nor alternative plans. On Saturday I got into the kitchen to make the Chelsea Buns. Personal note, lukewarm milk does not burn hand. Yep too warm and though some of the yeast survived it was also struggling to get up to speed. About halfway through I started on the bean soup. SO waiting for me to vacate the kitchen had done the shopping.

Now I know why my dad only ever made this two times a year. It is a giant job to do it. Cutting vegetables, making small meat balls etc. hours of work and massive exploding kitchen. But it all went according to plan. I needed my two largest pots to make the stuff. We even had to go out and get more storage boxes to cram it into the freezer! The massive amount of soup was delicious, the buns a good first time round. I tidied the kitchen a bit and SO got in for the creme caramel.

By the time we’d finished and were about ready to go to the in-laws we decided that we did not feel up to it and with SO’s cold increasing by the minute it was not going to be the best idea considering the episode of earlier in the week. We did call and everything is OK. I tried to call my parents a few times to tell them every so proudly that I had copied my dad’s famous family recipe to satisfaction but they did not answer. Knowing them I figured they were out somewhere.

So this morning I tried calling again. I mean copying that recipe was no mean feat and I just had to brag about it to them. This was a desperate need inside of me. But they did not answer the phone. That got me worried a little At that time they are always home, if not they tell me beforehand. They were not on Skype either (I have modern parents, well trained in the new technology). So I tried dad’s mobile as his tends to be next to the chair, but no answer. Hmmmmm not good, starting to get myself worked up to call my brother to check things out (he lives 3 blocks away from them) but first called mum’s mobile. I did not expect her to answer it as it usually somewhere where she can’t get to it in time but she did answer. As it turns out now their phone is not working for inbound calls. They did not know until I called but still.

This afternoon I pulled apart the pants I want to copy. That turned out to be a huge job, taking 3 hours! Putting the copy together may take less time. A sniffly SO made more tomatosauce and by the end of that we did not feel like cooking anymore so went out to get some pizza. Was a good weekend, but any plan we made got changed and we pretty much did all kinds of other stuff than what we had anticipated in advance.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Food, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What plan?

  1. Well done you for tackling the big recipe. I hope your SO get’s better soon. A hot toddie maybe? I’ll send you the recipe. Take care both of you.

  2. Here’s a link to the hot toddy recipe (yes I got the spelling wrong before). Maybe not quite a cure in a glass but it guarantees warmth and comfort and a good sleep. 😉

    http://www.hotwhisky.com/2009/01/hot-toddy-scottish-panacea/

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks!. A calm weekend and lots of extra sleep (day light savings) have helped a lot. As did the hearty soup. I’ll make him the Toddy next time when he sniffles 🙂

  3. Pingback: Cooking therapy | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

