Back to back

The weekend started out pretty well, it really did. Yesterday evening we had baked Camembert for dinner and loved every crumb of it. It had been a long and tiring week for both SO and myself so we felt we could do with a treat and we did.

This morning we went to pick up a SO’s new suit and loved the look of it. While we were driving there SO was stating that his back hurt. but with a little walk he seemed to be doing fine again. The suit is great, he looks smashing in it. After a coffee and admiring the new ipads in the nearby Apple store we went home to pick up my necklace. While we walked through we found an art centre and had the giggles over some items and liked a fair few bits. When we arrived home SO started making an early dinner as we were due to go to the theater. As he was preparing the dinner his back started hurting again. He could not bend over without being in pain. Walking was fine though.

Here we are now. SO on a chair with a few cushions and a hot water bottle supporting his lower back, instead of at the theatre. I just want to make the pain go away as it is awful to see your loved one in pain. It is a little bit the same as when he hurt his ribs last year. (twice) Nothing you can do but sympathise and take care of them. We think a little sliding episode on our wooden floor may have been the reason why this happened.

So a more relaxed weekend than planned. Next weekends will be busy so we’ll need the energy we build up.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Food, Home life, shopping, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to back

  1. I’m not going to ‘like’ this post as I feel sorry for your SO. I have back trouble too. Teach him some good stretching exercises when he is up to it. It makes all the difference. Oh photo of your new necklace please when you get a minute. J x

    • Gilraen says:

      The thing is, I usually am the one with back ache. This is so unusual for him.
      He’s the one with everything else. Achilles, ribs head etc, the back pain is mine (and that is where the yoga and walking come in.
      For SO we’ve pinpointed two things that may have caused it and those will be things he will avoid from now on. And yes I do feel very sorry for him. I know this hurts an awful lot. But he slept well last night and things are improving (slowly)

      I’ll pass the wish for the necklace picture on 🙂

Leave a Reply

