Potential custard

Our stars seemed to be aligned so clearly this time. International meetings, wonderful exhibitions and days off. It all was part of a great masterplan.

The Victoria and Albert (V&A) has not one but two wonderful exhibitions on at the same for a short time. Ballroom gowns and hollywood costumes. Months ago I had determined there was going to be an overlap between the two and hatching my plan. As luck would have it SO would need to attend a meeting near London in that same timeframe. After this was all confirmed we decided it was time for a weekend away. Planning started. Another stroke of luck made that I would have to attend a meeting halfway between home and London in Brussels exactely a day before the weekend we had in mind.

So the idea was to go to my meeting in Brussels, then take the Eurostar, spend the Thursday on my own in the V&A and SO meeting me in the evening in London. My friend Miekje (living in the UK) would meet us on Saturday, the first time I’d see my friend (of 25 years) in 3 years. We booked it all and then the custard was made.
The custard consist of Belgian railroad people that are planning a strike on Tuesday/Wednesday!!!!!!! My travel day! I mean seriously they has a strike just a month ago too. And last time I took the Eurostar I barely made it out of Belgium before another strike happened. At this stage it is not clear if I can actually get to Brussels, let alone London and the V&A.

Oh I know all signs at Eurostar and NS are still saying international travel will continue. Their sites are not posting it, but the notice has been given. I don’t trust this at all. The mere thought of this is making my stomach turn and makes me sad as. It is as if the universe is trying to pull a fast one on me.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Holiday, Home life, Stuff, Weekend, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potential custard

  1. Robin says:

    Yikes. I hope the universe works it all out for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

