My day for me

Totally a day for me me me me and me. Indulgent, tiring and splendid. I woke up, had breaksfast and went into town. There were some disruptions on the underground, but I managed my way through. As I had plenty of time I was not too bothered. Before the V&A I had time left for a coffee and a jamdonut in a nearby cafe. Pricey but nice. At 10 am I was ready for the Hollywood costume exhibition. So eager to get in. I struck up a conversation with a lady that did not tickets yet but was going to try for the 10.am entry.  It was brilliant and it wasn’t long before the lady that had entered behind me and I were chatting as if we were long lost friends. She was amazing but never got her name. Her husband had been in the armed forces and had a bad back so he sat down a few times. She was due to be a grandmother next week and a movie buff. She lives in an old old house that has been used for filming so se also knew that side of the story She was facinating and ever so friendly. As said we chatted throughout and clearly had to same eye for detail. A few times we were chatting with a man that was there too. He mentioned that he had trained as a fashion designer and he told us some fun bits he knew. He was so the British gentleman. So enjoyable that whole morning.

The exhibition  great. It took me two hours to get through There was so much to see hear and look at. Costumes from the whole history of the movies. I loved Morticia (Addams Family) Meryl Streep costumes and the period drama. But it was not just about the costumes, but also about who to get to the costumes The idea forming, the working with directors and visions behind it. For instance the fact that Indiana Jones’hat was aged by sitting on it (and mineral oil) both by the designer and Harrison Ford. The need to age stuff all kinds of little bits of knowledge. We spent quite a bit of time listenening to an interview with Tippy Hedren about her dress in the Birds. Another review of the exhibition with pictures can be found here. I spent a fair bit of time in the exhibition store. In the end I did not buy the book yet. On saturday I have tickets to the ballgown exhibition so I want to decide afterward which to buy.

After a lunch in the V&A garden I had one of the free introductory guided tour which highlights some bits of the V&A and is always fun to see. I then wandered through fashion and some other bits of the museum. There is just so much to see. When SO messaged that he was on his way. I decided to make my way to the hotel. After all I had the key.
So just finishing and then we are starting our weekend together!

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Art, Decisions, fashion, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My day for me

  1. Sounds like a wonderful day!

  2. Pingback: 2012 in numbers | Gilraensblog

  3. Pingback: Mr. Gaultier | Gilraensblog

  4. Pingback: Art and Fashion | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

