Cooking therapy

As we had been stressed we decided that this weekend is going to be nice and easy and really with the cooking it was. I made onion soup for the first time. Making onion soup has one major draw back. The draw back being 1Kg of onions needing to be peeled and sliced. My eyes were watering as if I was crying. It really stung! But was it worth it?

Oh yes it was worth it. Not only because it ended up a great meal to have in front of the Ruby game Wales-NZ but also because it was therapeutic. Cooking always is. I also made a batch of very nice Chelsea Buns. Much improved over last time. The yeast survived and as a result they were much more airy. They are now n an airtight container so SO can take them to work. After all baking for work is the only way I can keep the baking up. With having no children and all I need an outlet for production. Co-workers tend to be quite happy with the attentions.

As SO noticed I relaxed over the day, maybe the kneading of the Chelsea bun dough had something to do with it. But I think it also is so soothing to make something that is appreciated, tangible and practicable.  Having a rather cerebral job also involving a lot of people interaction, I find I need two things. Firstly I need to use my hands. My brain gets used enough. The other is I need time to me, to cocoon to recharge for the human interaction. In the latter aspect I am a text book introvert, people as much as I appreciate them are an energy leak.

But all in all; isn’t it a perfect day when you spend the day cooking lovely stuff, relaxing because of it and having NZ beat Wales at Rugby? I think it is.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Food, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking therapy

  1. Pingback: Did two things that frightened me | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

