Mission impossible

There are patterns in behaviour so engrained that even when you want to you can’t escape them. One of those for me is the lazy day pattern. I love the lazy day, don’t get me wrong. My issue with it that it turns out to be a day that never really starts.

When I get up and lounge around the house in my PJs I end up doing totally nothing. Oh sure over the internet I get around the world at least twice but other than that nada, zilch, nothing. I don’t get started on sewing or cooking or anything else. I simply can’t do it. Totally impossible for my brain to make a doing thing connection to the PJ. Tried it a fair few times and I just know for sure that in order to get started I have to get dressed.

I spent the day in my PJs not doing anything. So by 13.00 today I got fed up and did nothing. By 13.30 I get a little mad at myself and do nothing. Around 14.00 I finally manage to convince myself that sitting in PJs is not going to start the day and I get up to take a bath. After floating in the bath I got dressed and yes now my day has started. My first thing was to put some laundry on. Then write this blog and then start sewing.

SO is much much different in this respect. He made us wonderful lunch and seems to be happily doing his thing. He loves the lounging around and does not have that internal brake on starting to do what he wants to do (as long as it is in-doors). It is one of those little differences between us. Still we both love the occasional weekend like this where nothing is on the agenda and really the most important decision is weather to get dressed or not.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mission impossible

  1. mysocalledDutchlife says:

    I love those weekends…I miss those weekends! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

