Major irritation

Some things, some people irritate you. Some make your blood boil. Those in my case are those awful telemarkerteers. Words cannot express fully my irritation factor with them. There are many of them; some I have managed to stop. Some not (yet).

My rule of thumb is if you call me or put something through my letterbox I have not asked for you have just given me a perfectly legitimate reason not ever to buy your product and put my on my personal ban list of suppliers. Does end up helping in the choices department as many companies have now entered my black list. It is the same for companies and charities that call me. To be honest I feel slightly wicked (call it enjoyment) when I tell people that they just lost a customer because of their sales and marketing.

As I have a somewhat negative response to all this marketing, I have registered on several do-not lists (do not mail, me do not call me etc). Where I also need to re-register every 3-5 years. As if I would change my mind about something like this. (so NOT!). Wish there was a simple leave me alone list to be honest. Seriously I do not like that I have to take action not to be bothered by these people. I think it should be the other way around, but I also realise that they do not do that as nobody willingly would register to be swamped by that commercial stuff. An opt-in like you have with the internet in Europe, I would love that!

Unfortunately all those do-not lists do not apply if you are a current or former customer. Then all of a sudden you are fair game as you have expressed an interest. That is when they come out in full to hunt to squeeze more money out of you. So recently we have had the begging sessions from charities we subscribe to (please raise your voluntary contribution), our newspaper (we are digital, so stop this or we drop that one too) and today our television provider.

They called me and as it was a private number I always answer with “Hello”.  The telemarketeer immediately started with verifying if it was me and the conversation went on from there;

  • TM: I see here that that you are a current customer
  • me: I am aware of this
  • TM: Could I tell you about this amazing new deal that we have on offer
  • me: no you could not
  • TM (slightly taken aback): Uhm oh, can I ask why not?
  • me: because I loath this type of marketing. If I want something I’ll look around myself. A case of don’t call me, I’ll call you.
  • TM: oh but this is a really good deal, if I could just explain
  • me:  the answer remains no, I don’t care about the deal
  • TM: but
  • me: No (slightly louder)
  • TM: but
  • me: No (more blunt and slightly louder)
  • TM: OK then maybe you would like to invoke your right to object
  • me: I think I already did
  • TM: well then you have to listen to this tape with lots of codes to get to a point where you can register and our company will be added to your do not call register.
  • me: –
  • TM: well good day then
  • me: bye

After this I was forwarded to the touchtonecallcentre with the gazzilion option codes. I confess I did not wait until the end as I was at the hairdressers. But on the happy side that did end up in my conversation with the hairdresser and other customer and we all together had a nice fun bitch session about it. Seems I am not the only one that has a strong dislike to this. 😉

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Major irritation

  1. Enjoyed reading this, especially this : “we all together had a nice fun bitch session about it.”
    🙂

  2. draliman says:

    I totally agree with you in this! Unfortunately I am completely incapable of telling them to go away and always.end up listening to the whole “amazing deal”. I need to toughen up!
    It’s really bad in the UK at the moment. It was discovered that millions of people had been mis-sold PPI (Payment Protection Insurance). Immediately hundreds of companies sprang up ready to help you claim compensation (for a fee) – they call endlessly. If I’m at home during a work-day, I don’t even answer the land-line any more.

    • Gilraen says:

      Isn’t there a do-not-call register in the UK? I think this link may help you.

      I too had to learn that a simple no and nothing more is an acceptable and usually effective answer. Silence after the no is such a cool way to deal with it. Most people forget the force of silence 🙂

      The way I see it is that they invade my time and private space. They are not respectful of those. Though I will remain as civil as possible (I will not call them names, nor shout etc) they crossed my personal boundaries and as such that allows me to treat the call curt and cold.

      • draliman says:

        Thanks, I’ll check that link out. Though I have a sneaking feeling that many of these companies aren’t all that bothered about “the rules”!

      • Gilraen says:

        Quite possibly your are right, but every little bit helps when trying to get rid of this irritation.

  3. I absolutely agree with all you write. The best sales pitch I’ve been on the end of lately was in my bank. I was just depositing some cheques which takes about 2 minutes I am turning to leave and the bank clerk actually starts asking me about my insurance needs as ‘the bank has some good offers at the moment”. I could hardly believe my ears – so I just waved my hand I hope in a negative way. This endless stream of constant marketing is getting completely out of hand. And if anything creates a very negative and rather cynical effect on the proposed market. Aaaaaaahhhh!

    • Gilraen says:

      Thank you, you are right It is in part the tsunami of marketing. But it is also the intrusion when you are just doing your own thing. Almost as if we should be grateful that we were ‘chosen’ to have such a ‘wonderful’ offer made.

Leave a Reply

