Did two things that frightened me

Sinterklaas is over, that means that it is tree-time. So this morning SO and went tree shopping. After yesterdays snow and the nights cold I was a little concerned about the roads this morning but everything was fine. We were at the garden centre before 10 am, which meant we got a 20% off early bird voucher. Considering the price of trees this was quite welcome. We got ourselves a nice tree and some nice extra ornaments. See last time the tree was not quite overloaded enough. 🙂 Tomorrow we will be decorating the tree. Bright pink this year.

The afternoon was spent doing the scary stuff. After my last very sucessful attempt at Chelsea Buns I dared to have a look at my still lacking skill of bread making. With all the virtual television lessens by Paul Hollywood I felt confident enough to try again. Sure worked!. It was by far the best bread so far. Almost bakery quality. The almost is due to my oven that is a tad low on temperature and I did not take that into account enough. But all in all it was very nice. With special thanks to the GBBO masterclasses again! I finally am starting to get a little faith in my breadmaking ability.

As if that was not enough to get my stress levels up I decided to put my knitted sweater together. Just a year ago I started knitting again. but this time, not only did I knit it, I also designed it from scratch, just based on an idea in my head, some ideas on patterns and the trial patch of 10×10 and a lot of calculus. It was not easy to put together as it knit on size 12 needles. I had to use a crochet hook effectively crocheting all seams together. It worked! It is together. Then the really scary part came; putting it on. Did my calculus work? Was it going to look OK? Oh I nearly chickened out. Really, but I could not not do it! One I put it on SO looked so proud that I knew it was OK. Well it is more than OK, it is pretty darn good for a first design I dare to say. It fits very nicely and the colours are great. It is not finished yet. I need to put the shawl together and then it will be finished. I did pick up the stitches for that but have not started yet. That was one scary thing too many for one day.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Feelings, Food, Home life, Knitting, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did two things that frightened me

  1. We were a bit naughty and put the tree up on Sunday, before Sinterklaas had been and gone. Old habits die hard!

    Any chance of a picture of your jumper? I’d love to be able to knit and crochet – my sister is very good, but it’s a skill that has escaped me completely :-).

    • Gilraen says:

      Once I finish the neckline there is a chance 🙂
      As for Sinterklaas, well we Dutch tend to be a little strict on that sort of thing I guess :-). It is just a tradition many of us are not willing to change.

      • I like that about the traditions – it’s nice to see them so enthusiastically observed and I was happy to see that one of my Dutch friends had her tree up before mine, lol.

  2. Pingback: 2012 in numbers | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

