Hamming away

Just in case anybody wondered; SO and I are tired and it was showing this weekend. Thank heavens that christmas is during the week this year as it meant that we could do all the christmas stuff reasonably leisurely. Of course there were the last hurdles to overcome like how am I going to cook the ham?

It was on Saturday that SO I realised we may have a problem of sorts. See, this wonderful ham we ordered was not going to fit our largest pot. No way it was. Of course there is always a solution; the last resort called knife but really that would be a shame. After calling all relatives and having them measure the diameters of their largest pot we came up with nothing but a ham in the fridge. The knife was looming over the ham like Damocles‘ sword.

But a solution was found. A store nearby is a store for the professional and there we found a large pan. It has a good size for my father’s bean soup too. SO and decided it would be an assest for making stock and broth and well all kinds of other large item things that need to be frozen. We now just have to find a place to store it after christmas.

We managed to get all the pressies in and all the fresh stuff by shopping early. There was even time to go wool shopping – bought some wool to make SO a sweater. Scary as it wil be the first time I wll be knitting something for somebody else (not counting a scarf, too easy) Have to say I am grateful for the internet. The stitch in the patternbook looked familiar but I simply could not work it out by the description and figures. Internet came to the rescue and it turns out it is even simpler than I expected. Looking forward to doing that.

Tonight it is preparing some stuff for tomorrow. SO has already been busy preparing his dishes for tomorrows dinner. All in all it is reasonably relaxed for a christmas, and possible because of that I can feel how tired I am.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family, Feelings, Food, Holiday, Home life, Knitting, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hamming away

  1. Pingback: Saturday, the way we love it | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

