christmas past

It is over, christmas that is. Boxing day we spent with my parents and my brother’s family. It was nice I have to admit. The dinner was magical. Mum and dad had made jugged hare and it was wonderful I must say. Strong in flavour and decadent because of the game in it.

The only negative in the evening was that my youngest nephew was ill. I guess he had the flu and he was in bed most of the time. He really did have a fever. Poor lad. Toward the end of the evening my brothers GF also started to feel unwell so they left earlish. Mum, dad and I changed all the bedding as my fever suffering nephew had been sleeping and lying in all beds.

SO and I stayed the night and after out computer helpdesk duties we drove home. There is still water downstairs but it is drying out. We are tired but so happy in that content end of the year cosy style. We’ve arrived in what we feel is one of the greatest times of the year. Listening to the top 2000, singing with songs at times, darkness as a blanket surrounding us and just the two of us. Just like it was 6 years ago. Enjoying just being together. A few more days and the year is gone. A new year ready to start but before then we just hibernate for a little.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Family, Feelings, Food, Holiday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to christmas past

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    I’m looking forward to the end of this year and the beginning of a new one. This year has been tough for us for a variety of reasons but also it had so many high points – one of them was meeting you and your SO! Enjoy your hibernation period, recharge your batteries, especially with all the flooding you guys have had to deal with.

    • Gilraen says:

      I am glad to hear that even a hard year has had some highlights and flattered that I am considered to be one of them.
      Strange isn’t it hwo everybody feels that a new year is a natural restart for another year. Strange as really any day or week could be considered a restart, yet somehow a new year makes us look back and forward. Guess it also has to do with the sun solstice and the darkness in winter that makes all more completative

Leave a Reply

