Bedtime

One of the more entertaining parts of me is my internal heating. It is totally off and in bed it is the worst at that temperature that it is too hot to have the heater on and too cold in the bed still.

And there I was in the new year. Tucked up in bed and cold! There is no problem if it is colder outside then the heater is on and I do not need to heat up my bed with just my own internal heat. There is no problem when it is warmer outside as the lingering heat from the day makes sure the bed is warmed.

This time I was wearing my PJs, socks and I had my winterduvet as well as my summer duvet covering me. I had made the primary mistake. I had gotten into the cold bed with cold feet (been to my sewing class) without a hot water bottle and the socks just did not cut it. Slowly I felt the cold rising through my body from my feet up my legs and then I knew it was enough.

I got up, put on another PJ and socks, over the original ones and snuggled up to my little furnace, aka SO. Finally things seems to be going well and I fell asleep. Of course in the morning all of of the clothing was gone as I warmed up overnight. After a hearty laugh SO bought some more hot water bottles as two of ours had developed a leak due to frequent use. The next night was warmed up by two water bottles, but that too proved a bit too much. I’m sticking to one for the next few nights.

Nothing like the heat from the hot water bottle. No electric blanket for me. A bottle just radiates nice heat and can be hugged.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bedtime

  1. I agree. I think warming a hot water bottle is a nice bedtime ritual. There is something very comforting about making your bed warm and comfortable for the night. I’m sure the process, as much as the warmth, adds to a better nights sleep.

  2. Oh I’m so like you….I just can’t sleep if my feet are cold. Hot water bottle= perfect bedtime 🙂

Leave a Reply

