Comments are wonderful

I adore Jane Austen, that much could be a well-known fact. I discovered her in high school but read her then as a form of chick-lit.  As I re-read her later I saw her mastery as describing society and her sense of humour. I learned through her about myself in different stages in my life. Such is her skill at making everybody see part of them in the book, but also to be able to observe what is really going on at times. Over the years her books have been companions, self-help books, humour and history books all rolled into one. I love the films too, some more than others and I have my favourites among them.

One of my favourite holiday memories was being in Bath and walking a Jane Austen walk. I was a student at the time and I was there with two friends. At the time the walk was run by volunteers and free. Seems it is no longer free but still and gives a mix of information on Bath and Jane Austen which is splendid. A top tip if you are ever in Bath.

One of the news sites I frequent is the Guardian. They put a picee together as Pride and Prejudice is almost 200 years old.  Now the piece gives you 10 pictures with running commentary on their best characters. But what is really cool to read are the comments. It was pure enjoyment. I liked it so much that I wanted to share it

The next thing I wanted to do was run downstairs and grab my books and DVDs. I am the proud owner of all Austen’s by the BBC series. Which contains in my opinion the best P&P series with Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle. That is the one I watch when I am ill. Sooths me completely

If  you are an Austen fan check out these sites to meet fellow fans, Jane Austen society or  The republic of Pemberley

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Holiday, Home life, Review, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Comments are wonderful

  1. Have you read The Jane Austin Book Club by Karen Joy Fowler? For me it was an OK read but obviously written by a true Jane Austin fan. What I remember about her work was her brilliant witty observations so maybe its time for me to re-read her – I have to say I have not enjoyed all the adaptations of her books and maybe over the years this has clouded my original enjoyment. So grey January and February (and probably March) could be cheered up by a Jane Austin revival! So thanks.

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks for that. Do have a look at her books again. Effectively it can be a light and easy read. For a start have a look at Emma. My favourite adaptation, to my own surprise, is the Gwynneth Paltrw movie. Toni Colette is wonderful in it as Harriet Smith.

      I did not read the bookclub book. The book only gets 3 stars on Amazon. So I decided not to read it.

  2. You were right – I honestly believe 3 stars is generous! Well I will read them again because I am finding it quite interesting re-reading books which I enjoyed years ago and have now either found new depths and a differant slant with great enjoyment or just rather dull and full of nothing! I am pretty confident that Jane Austin will not be disappointing and I am equally pretty sure I will pick up immediately on that humour which first time round I’m sorry to admit I found a bit to elusive and subtle for my nitwit brain. And anything that can make me laugh ALWAYS gets a gold star.

    • Gilraen says:

      I guess it is a bit difficult to see the humour as the way it is written is old-fashioned. For me as a foreigner the movies have helped me to understand the jokes and on re-reading it really came to life

  3. Pingback: revisiting old friends | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

