Tradition extended

Our anniversary tradition was kept up this year. This despite the fact that our anniversary was on a Wednesday. As a result we decided that a place not far away was our best bet. This year the 4th anniversary honour was granted to a restaurant called Ivy.

Ivy qualifies as it has one Michelin star (since 2010) and it is a place that has shot up the Dutch ranks of good food. In “Lekker” (delicious) magazine it is ranked seventh in the country. The chef is quite young and the place is in a trendy new development in the old harbour area.

We were very pleasantly impressed by the place. It is far from pretentious, roomy, light yet subdues, elegant but also relaxed with an open kitchen. Really nice and our table had a view of the river. One of the nice things is that all cutlery is stored in the table and laid out as required without staff having to go and get it. Really interesting way of doing it. SO and I decided after not much thinking time to go for the tasting menu of 9 courses. Of course added are the amuses. With the favourite of a seaweed cracker with wasabi but a tad more advanced as to what we would have.  Our best courses we agreed on; his signature oyster, liver and rhubarb dish. This was magic on a plate; really really nice. Our comment? Can we have a kilo of this stuff to take home please. Another of my favourites was the nitrococktail which is made using liquid nitrogen, while at the table. Just about all courses were memorable. Let’s just put it this way. In my book this chef is cooking himself into a second star in the not too distant future.

The staff we encountered were very correct. As it was a weekday SO did not want a full wine arrangement and they offered what they called a half arrangement, meaning he got half glasses. This was perfect for SO and he really enjoyed it. SO and I agreed that this restaurant goes onto the list of our specials.

What was even more memorable was SOs (successful) attempt of leaving me speechless. Life for SO has been pretty intense in the last few weeks. In part due to us being tired from work, but mainly because of worry for his mother. As can be expected this has some impact on his usual good mood. In all fairness he’s been tired and withdrawn mostly, definitely not nasty, but enough for me to jump into being worried about him mode. He wanted me to know that he knew, that he appreciated that and that he also knew that it had had an impact on me. So he’d bought me a present to say thanks. I was taken aback as I had nothing for him, but he did not want to hear about that. As I opened the present, cleverly concealed as something from the perfumery, I stopped breathing a little. My lovely SO had bought me the mini iPad that I had been uhm-ing and ah-ing over for weeks months now! Seriously! I was left speechless. It did take a little self constraint not to open in there and then and start downloading apps.

SO was really happy that his surprise had worked. We had an extremely lovely evening and extremly nice meal. Life is good then isn’t it? Just the next morning was a bit hard on us. Still managed to work but it was not the best day ever.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Food, Home life, Stuff, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tradition extended

  1. What a lovely blog – your delight, surprise and love pours through.

  2. There is nothing like the delightful treat of an amazing meal, and wines to match 🙂

  3. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    What a lovely thoughtful man you have there 😉

  4. Pingback: my poor stomach | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

