Weekend turn

On Friday evening we tend to eat a simple but delicious meal. Some of our favourites are the baked camembert and a large pot of mussels. It is perfect for a Friday evening with a baguette and/or fries in front of the TV. A mini-picnic.

Last Friday it was mussels on the agenda. SO was home around 6.30ish and we started our meal. Just as SO had cleaned the shellfish and the broth started to boil the phone rang and it was not a happy phonecall. My MIL needed to be brought to the hospital again. SO took off to take his parents there. I just had enough time to make SO a cheese sandwich and a bottle of water (we are getting good at this). The mussels were moved to the fridge and I had the fries. What else can you do?

That evening was spent using what app and for the family, waiting. It was well after midnight that I went to bed alone and not until 4.30 that SO finally arrived there as well. In the end MIL had been admitted to hospital and that is where she still is. They are testing everything they can think of just to get to the bottom of what is wrong with her. I mean four hospitals visits in just over two months is way too excessive.

Saturday was a bit of an off day for SO as he was severely sleep deprived. Our concern was for the in-laws. We had the mussles for dinner, but SO admitted that they were not the happy meal that they usually are. Tonight he is off for a business trip. Given the circumstances he is doing really really well.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Food, Home life, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekend turn

  1. Ingrid D. says:

    Hope everything will be ok.

  2. Really tough times for you all – please accept my best wishes.

  3. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    This is such a stressful time for you all. I do hope that things work out and it won’t be too long before you can both, once again, have your delicious meal together and relax. Hang in there both of you.

Leave a Reply

