Crashed

Over the last week and a half I had several blogposts in my head, but they never came out.

I wanted to blog about the winter, that I love so much, finally getting underway. I wanted to share how much I enjoyed walking to work and having that sense of wonder of nature turning. I wanted to blog about our Sunday run in the freezing snow and how elated we felt arriving home to hot chocolate. I wanted to share that my MIL is home safe, not well, but slowly improving. So many things and so few words written. See I crashed.

At my most favourite time of the year when there is snow, it is cold and when the darkness is lit by the whiteness of the environment I was struck down by a light but irritating flu. Last week I increasingly felt worse and drained of energy but as there was no real illness to be seen I kept going. One of my coworkers told me on Thursday she thought me to look pale, most certainly considering the amount of time I spend outdoors (Gee thanks was my response) On Sunday I went home from our dinner with friends very early as my stomach just wasn’t feeling right. Monday I went to work (or rather I attended) and if it had not been for SO taking me to work and public transport taking me back I don’t think I would have managed.

This was followed by a light fever (really just barely), sore bones, massive headache and exploding intestines. I capitulated and stayed home. So here I am two days later finally feeling a little bit better having spend two days on the couch feeling sorry for myself. Food is still one of those things that is not too appealing. I have forced myself over the last few days to eat and to make sure I have my fruits. My head is still easily turned into a spin but I feel as if that is the last hurdle to be cleared. My endeavour for today is to get dressed and to get some shopping. The supermarket is only 300m out and I do need some fresh air. Besides the thaw starts this weekend and I need to get some of my favourite weather into my body before it is over again.

SO seems ok from his health perspective, but I so wished I could have avoided this flu. With his mother and work and stuff he’s got enough on his plate. Worrying about me I wish I could have avoided. He’s been wonderful in making sure that there was an evening meal. A meal that had lots of flavour so I could actually taste it. And I made sure I had a plate full, because I know I need the energy to get better.

So here is to hoping that this problem too will pass and that I will get back to normal soon.

This is on my way to work one day, just after the snow fell. Actually one of the few cycle paths on the way that is not cleared. Just love the blueness surrouding the snow of a day dawning in winter

This is on my way to work one day, just after the snow fell. Actually one of the few cycle paths on the way that is not cleared. Just love the blueness surrouding the snow of a day dawning in winter

Taken with my phone, Not a very good picture, but it was so nice to see a bird sitting there

Taken with my phone, Not a very good picture, but it was so nice to see a bird sitting there

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Crashed

  1. corrie says:

    HI there, hope this finds you fully on the mend….and throwing slushy snowballs!!
    love corrie

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks! Getting there. But you know I don’t fall over quickly, but if I do, I fall over majorly.
      And that snowball, you are in for a snowball fight ;-).

  2. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    I’m sorry to hear that you’re feeling poorly. Take good care and don’t push yourself. I hope you feel better soon. J x

    • Gilraen says:

      Every day is better than the one before. The good news is that I am getting bored, that is usually a sure sign of improvement when ill 🙂

  3. Glad you’ve reached the bordom level – but don’t jump up quite yet tackle some knitting and indulge in a good long read. You deserve it. And you’ll feel all the better in the long run.

    • Gilraen says:

      That is what I am trying to do. Currently TV is better as headaches are rampant. This is because I am just a wee bit impatient by nature. It is hard to indulge and keep it eeasy 😉 But I am learning.

  4. draliman says:

    So sorry you’ve not been well, and just when your favourite weather came along as well.
    Although the rest of the UK got a lot of snow, we only got a light dusting in Cornwall, and just one morning.
    Hope you feel much better soon!

  5. miekje says:

    Classical symptoms of H1N1 (bird flu), the one we were all so scared about 2 years ago. Next year maybe get a flu vaccine… You interact a lot with different people in your work, and you fly all over the world. And of course stress depresses the immune system. Sorry if I go on a bit, you pressed the button of my area of expertise :-). Hope you are back to your old energetic, bouncy self soon.

    • Gilraen says:

      Bouncing back as per usual. Yep it was a flu. No two ways about it, no matter how much I wish you were wring. I am not arguing with you.
      As for the vaccine – I’ll think about it. But this year it is only Europe – I think

Leave a Reply

