We’re going to have a nation wide party

Today there was the news of news. Our Queen is abdicating. I have to admit to becoming emotional. I like our queen. I love having a royal house, that is there and has no political role other than beign the figure head behind the whole nation an hide.

She’s been awesome.And now we will have a king. The first one in over a century. After him we will have a queen again. It will be odd though having a King.

But, showing my age, it will be the second time I see a change of monarch. It is going to be special It is a party and I for one am looking forward to it. Only drawback I hae found so far. The new king will change the date of the Queens b’day to his actual b’day (hers is in January) and that means that the first time we celebrating his birthday it will be in the weekend Which means that we miss out on a day off!

Oh well as long as that is the only drawback.

PS. I am back to work. Back on track again and doing OK

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Interesting, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We’re going to have a nation wide party

  1. miekje says:

    Wow, thanks for the news. I didn’t watch TV news today, I was off at my sewing class, then returning home to submit yet another online job application. You had this news even before my LinkedIn expat groups 🙂 Unfortunately I won’t be able to come to NL for the party, we will be attending our best man’s wedding. I am going to miss queen Beatrix though. She is the royal I love the most. In my humble opinion Europe has seldom seen such a competent monarch.

    • Gilraen says:

      She is a great Queen. You’ll be missing a great party, but you are attending another one. I think that is a good enough reason 🙂

  2. Have a happy Coronation party! 🙂 I think it is nice that your queen gets to retire and enjoy old life with a few less duties. Our queen has stated that she will stay on her post until they have to carry her out… Admirable, but I think she deserves a few years of relaxation. Ah well, she’s the queen – who am I to argue? ;o)
    Good to know that you are feeling better again.

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks, life is getting back to a level of nromality. Though I do notice that I my stamina has taken a hit.
      I too think it is a great thing that our Queen decides to retire. Imagine haviing to wait until your mother dies before becoming the next monarch. Some are then past pensioners age already! Looks like we’ll have a good party. You guys coming to party too?

Leave a Reply

