Baking again

This time the baking challenge was twofold. Focaccia, the scary bread by Paul Hollywood and scones.

En: My homemade Focaccia with Olives, Rosemary...

En: My homemade Focaccia with Olives, Rosemary and Sage. It: Focaccia fatto in casa, con le Olive, Rosmarino e Salvia. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As I had seen the masterclass on Focaccia. I was prepared for the water festivities associated with it. As expected the first try was a massive disaster and after 5 minutes I gave up on the glob I had produced and started again. This time my efforts were successful. In fact the dough was more than a little better than hoped for. The bread was near perfect. SO was impressed and so was I. It is guest ready 🙂

The second lot were chocolate and orange Scones as made in the comic relief bake off by Ellie Simmonds. It was for breakfast and apart from not quite rising as much as I would have liked they ended up being wonderful. I had made 16, so far too many to eat, but my co-workers happily helped me through them.

Of course after this and our normal meal our kitchen looked like something had exploded in it. Something with lots of flour I should add. So then the big tidy up began, but I was tired then and this baking helped me to de-stress. It was done but I preferred eating my new bakes. I think I have ticked one new skill box and am close to a second one. Nice to know that practice still does make perfect.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Food, Home life, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

