Noises by day, and night

I had a long weekend at home. As mentioned on Friday it did not start quite as anticipated with my tooth collapsing. The good news is that I won’t need a crown and it can be built back up with a filling on the outside. Lucky and most certainly cheaper.

The next thing that happened on Friday was my young neighbour. He was practicing his DJ skills in a rather loud manner. He’s on the second floor and I could hear everything on the ground floor in my kitchen. I switched ont he radio to drown his noise with my own music. The only way to do this was to play my music at a volume that was uncomfortably loud for me. Needless to say I was not impressed. So I rang the door 3 times. No answer. I then decided to go out to escape the noise. Once I was outside I gave it one more go and rang the door, no answer. His music was very much outside as well So I yelled outside in a very un-ladylike manner. “Will you turn the volume of that bloody awful noise down!” (kan die teringherrie wat zachter)

That struck a chord and when I then rang the doorbell he came bolting down the stairs. I was ever so polite in telling him that this volume was simply unacceptable etc. That evening he returned to apologise. He also mentioned (and he agreed timing was less than perfect) that he was having his birthday party THAT evening, but that the music would be switched off between 1 and 2 am. His parents, we know now, had told him weeks ago to tell us so we could make alternative arrangements, but you know he is at that age πŸ™‚

The good thing is he kept his word. By 1.30 all noise was gone. However between about 21.30 and that time SO and I felt as if we were trying to get some sleep in the middle of a discotheque. The only thing missing was the rotating mirror disco ball. Mirrored discoball

After about half an hour we gave up pretending to be asleep and switched on the TV. As luck would have it the only thing there was match of the day. Mind you, we were barely able to hear the TV so nothing much lost there. We were not happy, but at least we got to sleep at 1.30. Just seems every year the party gets louder and louder and this was really rough.

The next day we felt somewhat off colour. So excuse me for feeling just a little irritated. It so ended up not the nice easy going weekend we’d wanted. We accept he is a teenager, and we accept that there will be noise at times. No complaints there, we still remember what it is like to be a teenager. But after this weekend we have made it clear that this was the last time we would accept it. Next time if they need to do it at home, we will check into a hotel at their expense. I only think that is fair.Β  Oh and we did do some nice stufff too. 15 km run for SO, cooking and some sewing, but that was to get our zen and groove back.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Wedding and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Noises by day, and night

  1. Pingback: Baking again | Gilraensblog

  2. “Next time if they need to do it at home, we willcheck into a hotel at their expense.” – very appropriate and fair! πŸ˜€

    • Gilraen says:

      I’d say so πŸ™‚ Even though I feel as i I am being chased out of my house. The other part of me does think the guy deserves to have a great party. This weekend (the friday) was out of the normal behaviour patterns, He tends to be OK considering puberty.

  3. Pingback: On the run | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

