Teething

I got myself a new tooth extension. No other way to describe what happened. Even at the best of times I am no dental hero.

Experiences early in my life have left me a little scarred. When I had one of my wisdom teeth pulled the dentist did not give me a painkiller and pulled out the tooth that was still quite deep in my jaw. Let’s just say it nearly cost him his finger. He then proceeded to tell me I was a wimp. Maybe, but he was a sadist. Took weeks to heal and though he was my family dentist I never went back.

The sad thing is, since then I have only had good, nice and sensible dentists. My dentist when I was a student was brilliant. In NZ my dentist was so nice and so of the pain does not come into it sort that I happily went. The root canal she did was not a picnic, but a lit easier than my fear had told me. My current dentist is very matter of fact. Gives me pain relief when I want it and terribly no nonsense and fast in his work.

So when my tooth broke it was a case of call him make appointment and sheer relief that he could fill it and that I did not need a crown of worse. But then the day of the treatment arrived. With it came the old fear and memories. I was stressed and seriously unhappy. As it was the middle of the day I made clear at work that my return was depended on the pain I was in and the stress I was under.

My shoes were filled with lead as I took my bike to cycle to the dentist. I was early and the room was full. I read some (looked at pictures in glossies really) and was called in for the jab. The pure prick is always nasty, but you know gone quickly. Cheerfully my dentist said, that ought to have been the only painful part. I hear myself thinking “Yeah right”, while I walk back to the waiting room to have the pain relief kick in. Slowly I feel my face features change and everything is numb after a while. I am called in again and I sit on the seat of dread and am tilted back, Open wide. He starts his work and the cleaning thingy makes its awful noise. I feel gag reflexes, but my dentist is quick to suck out any moisture my glands are pushing out. My lips become dry and the side of my mouth feels droopy. But really that and the pressure of his hands are all that I feel. The rest is background and noise. No pain.

Barely 10 minutes later he polishes the new side of my tooth and lets it dry for 2 minutes. All clamps and stuff come off and my mouth feels very very dry because of the sucky tool but also normal again. The gap that was caused but the broken tooth is healed again and the tooth feels as if nothing ever happened. I, on the other hand, feel as if my smile has been pulled into the Cheshire cat grin, wide and silly. No pain though.

Because of the lack of pain and sense of relief I went back to work again. Once home my tooth started to feel a little sensitive when the drugs wore off, no pain though. So all in all there was a lot of stress, a lot of anticipation and weird things, but no pain. I feel grateful for a non nonsense but sensitive dentist. And best of all my mouth feels normal again.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Teething

  1. draliman says:

    I know how you feel. I really need to go to the dentist but I keep putting it off. I know that no matter what happens it will quickly be over but I’m still too scared! Also, every dentist I’ve ever been to has treated me like a naughty child who hasn’t been taking care of their teeth and I hate that. Please, just fix my teeth and keep your condescending remarks to yourself Mr/Ms Dentist!

    • Gilraen says:

      LOL Yes dentists tend to be rather over protective of teeth and it is a bit much at times. I do keep my 6-monthly checks going, but only because I know it is good for me and does pay off when things are needed. Plus SO needs his check up as he was not blessed with the best ivory set in the world. Does help that somebody else has to good habit

  2. Pingback: Teething revisited | Gilraensblog

  3. Pingback: Dental issues again | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

