Well in that case

We had a reasonably easygoing weekend. On Saturday we did a test drive for a car SO is considering. It is just something that needed to be done and took a lot longer than expected. In part because we had a car salesman who was very nice, but also rather elaborate in his talking including telling us just about everything in his life. Nice, just a bit much.

In the afternoon we went to meet our new 5-week old neighbour. It is their second child and it was nice as our other neighbours were there too. We have nice people on both sides, not being too friendly, but good neighbours.

Yesterday SO managed to crank out a 18 km run despite not having have been running for nigh on two weeks. Hard work, but he did it. The evening was spent with the in-laws for FILs birthday, which was nice. We got home around 22.00 and decided to head straight to bed considering it was a Sunday and we needed to have an early start for work. Normally we have a tendency to just surf the web for a little when we get home, but as said not this time.

We got up around 6.15 in our normal routine and tidied up as we have the cleaners on Monday around 7.00 we stumbled downstairs. SO mentioning how his legs hurt and we said that we’d been sleeping well. Just your average Monday morning after a good weekend. We made breakfast and lunch and discussed shopping arrangements – me getting the fruit, SO dinner. As I sat down for breakfast and looked my first coffee of the day into its black contents I fired up my computer and the email. There was an email from our gardener called start. A few weeks ago we gave the go ahead for the garden make over, due in March, so I assumed he just confirmed the date or maybe would start a week earlier as the weather seems OK for the garden.

Sorta he was, kinda, a little. He’d sent the email the night before. I’m coming over tomorrow (that is today at time of reading). We’ll be there by 8.00. Right! It is 7.20 now. Holy cr*p! I am allowed to slightly panic! He’s coming over in 40 minutes and we are due to head out for work. Something in this picture ain’t adding up! SO and I were all of a sudden a bit like a bunch of rabbits caught in the headlight and not very happy. So what now? Stop the guy? Well he’s on his way already and having the garden done before the weather turns nice does have its positives. But but but ………………… slight panic increasing, recompose and back to business. The sort of whose schedule allows what? For that matter which boss allows what? But also the practical stuff ; move the curtains over so they do not get dirty and move the table to maximise the space for the guys to walk through the house. Inform cleaner. We were instantly very very awake and in do-it mode.

I decided to take the day off. I did not have enough work with me to make it a work day and my schedule allowed it. SO opted for Tuesday/Wednesday, which is just as well as Tuesday is an absolute no go for me and I am going on the Thursday break. Friday we are leaving both open for now, as it depends on the schedule. My boss thought it quite funny but Okayed it and SO’s boss was working with us too. So when the gardener arrived we were sorted, jittery, but sorted.

We opened the door and told him he was a little earlier than expected. He turned a whiter shade of pale when we also told him what had happened and how he’d forgotten to tell us about the much earlier schedule. We did mention that he was in luck with neither of us needing to travel this week so we were all for go. He was very apologetic (he is a really nice guy) but visisbly relieved we had managed to turn the week around in 40 minutes.

And go they did. The garden is empty-ish now. Everything that needs to come out is out. The hedge is looking a little (lot) bare and my house is cold! The doors have been open all day and while it is not freezing anymore, it is pretty close.  The blackbird is liking what is happening. He’s been around a bit chasing worms and other bits. It was kinda cool to see.

And me? Well I decided to make it a nice day. We only need to be here in case there are questions. So I sewed, I knitted and the ironing and all in all had a lovely unexpected day for relaxation. It is promising to be an interesting week.

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Knitting, Sewing, Stuff, Weekend, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Well in that case

  1. draliman says:

    Cool you managed to sort things out so quickly!
    I often find that if I have ages to sort something like that out, I become frozen by indecision, but if I only have half an hour my brain kicks it up a gear and I get things done really fast, just like you guys had to.

    • Gilraen says:

      I am a planner by nature and as a result such a huge change of plans on such short notice is not my way of doing things. Took me a few hours to replan my week and mpre specifically that day. But as you can see, I can do it if I have to 🙂

  2. Pingback: Weird week | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

