Weird week

The week was weird, no doubt about it and no two days were remotely the same.

After we got things sorted on Monday the guys started working on the garden. Because we have no entrance to the garden at the back they had to take all soil in and out through the house, but they made sure to tidy up every day. It was cold though with both the front and the back of the house open. Every day they made a lot of progress. But it was not just the garden that made the week weird.

Tuesday SO was home all day and he said fairly bored. You see he does not sew :-), but in all fairness the office is also getting a clean out. In the evening I had an old friend over. She lives about 2.5 hours away and as a result we do not get to see each other often. She had to be near to our place for a course and planned to have dinner with me. It was so lovely to see her. We just can keep talking and though the subjects have changed it feels as if we are back in university. I was home at a decent time (her course was still a 45 minute drive).

Wednesday SO had taken off as well and in the evening I had M over for sewing as there was no class that night. By that stage the garden started to really have some of the outlines of what we ordered. Not only that but we also started to see how beautiful the tiles are that we ordered. Even the garden guys were commenting positively. The tiles are so much lighter and because of that it seems to be lighter inside as well. Wonderful.

Thursday was my day again and it was maniacal. Not only did we have the garden guys we also had the plumbers to get the water connected to the garden. I was sewing upstairs and it felt as if I had fled there. What a ruckus with five men working downstairs! I did decide on the plants we want in there. SO was not too phased and I had some ideas about what I wanted. I sent SO the pictures of what we will get and he liked it a lot. A good thing though is that  with two days of unexpected sewing I nearly finished my coat of NZ fabric, my skirt of Scottish Harris tweed and a nice little top. All I need to do is to is hem them. The finishing touches. That evening I went bowling with my department and dinner with a bunch of networking friends.

Friday was the most normal day of all days. As the electrician can’t make it until Tuesday the gardener decided to delay the last bits until then as well. So both SO and I were at work and had an evening together. Very unusual this week. Today we channeled our inner chefs again (I made Cornish Pasty, SO a shrimp dish for dinner in a while) We also got to the hairdresser. My hair nicely in the right form and colour again.

Yes it has been a weird week, but the  weather is turning nicer this week and our garden is nearly ready for spring. Weird but wonderful, just not something I want happening too often 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Food, Home life, Interesting, Sewing, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weird week

  1. draliman says:

    Yay, Cornish pasty (I’m Cornish)! You wouldn’t believe how many pasty shops there are here. I hope yours turned out okay and that your garden does too. You’ll have to post a picture of it when it’s done (the garden, not the pasty).

    • Gilraen says:

      Pasties wee fine, just not quite enough pepper added, but they tasted really good. Quite filling in fact.
      I’ll post pictures of the garden when it is full of plants yes. Just a few more days 🙂

  2. Robin says:

    As long as it’s wonderful, weird is just fine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

