Felt old today

Years ago, in near ancient times. You know when I grew up when you needed to phone people you had a big gray phone in the corner of the lounge. Phoning was done publicly and if it took longer than 3 minutes you’d grab a chair. This of course was also they day and age of phone booths. Where there was a public phone and where you would search your pockets for small change to keep the line going. Specifically when you were on a holiday just to let the home front know you were fine. The home front would then ring all others required (grandparents for instance).

Times do change and for the phones they changed for the better. First we got the longer lines so you could walk around. Then the hands free, but still with a base station. Then the mobile happened. First one were brick sized, both in design and weight. The antenna was too funny and really over here they were not very popular. But as the size of these thingies decreased the popularity increased. And then we move from phone to the phone plus aka smart phone. I love my smart phone, I really do. I mean it has games, it has instant bank access, it has GPS and maps, it has twitter and oh yeah it is also a phone.

So what made me feel old today. Well I was looking into a shop and this lady was standing next to me and she was talking and it took me a few seconds to figure out that A. she was not talking to me. B. she was not talking to herself, but C. she was talking on a phone, which I could not see as it was not on her ear. Right.

I walked on as I had an errand to run and came across another young lady happily loudly talking in a way that would assume that she was with somebody, which she was not. It was then that I noticed her earphones and it clicked that she was on the phone.

As somebody who grew up thinking that people loudly talking into thin air were a little odd at best and quite possibly completely off their heads this new phenomenon is slightly disconcerting. It is just so weird how what was once the behaviour of the strange has become completely normal with the help of technology.

And I felt old. Because I could remember the days, because I lived through the history and because I felt a jolt of feeling that personal history. But then I just said to myself; “Isn’t life

Telephone Booths

Telephone Booths (Photo credit: MissTessmacher)

marvelous? There are so little certainties when we are born, just two certainties, death and change. I like the latter and will continue to embrace it, despite my increase in history.”

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Interesting, Made me think, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

