Comedy and more

Last night we went out to a stand up comedy/cabaret. Though Thursday is not our favourite day for this it was the only way to see this particular bunch of people. (Hulphond).Their show had had an excellent five star rating in the news paper. So all tickets sold like hotcakes and were hard to obtain.  So we searched for tickets for an hour or so and found some with decent seating in a smaller town about 35 minutes from home and near SOs work, but on Thursday. We decided we could cope with that and bought the tickets in eager anticipation.

I took off from work at 5, met up with SO at his place of work, we grabbed something to eat and went to see something special and funny. We were ready to be entertained and looked forward to it.

Were we entertained? Well not quite. It was funny………………. in places. It was interesting…………………in places. What it was not; was excellent. It was ok at best. Most of it was of a pubescent level of fun, flat, predictable. The changes between scenes were well done, but they used characters and really after 10 of those they started to morph into each other. They sang too and quite well I do admit. And sure we had a giggle, we had a few laughs but no belly ache, not cramps in the corner of my mouth, just a general feeling of “was that all?” We left the theatre saying; their next show we will definitely give a miss.

So apart from this blog and feeling somewhat sleep deprived this morning it is not going to stay in my memory long I am afraid. Has it dampened our willingness to do stuff? Hell no. Just today we saw college tour with Eddie Izzard one of my favourite British comedians. He is starting his world tour soon and guess what? He is coming to the Netherlands in April. I just bought tickets for Thursday (Friday and Saturday were already sold out). It will be a long day as I am in a training during the day and have to be in on Friday. Still who cares We are off to see the Izzard!

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Art, Feelings, Home life, Interesting, Review, Stuff, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Comedy and more

  1. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    Oh Mr Izzard is one of our favourites – Spencer and I love him. I saw him last year and he was wonderful. I am sure you and SO won’t be disappointed. You should look up his old stuff when he first started out – very funny. Enjoy and PLEASE report back 😉

  2. Gosh the last time I saw a real belly laugh comedian live was in Ipswich about 30 years ago and it was Victoria Wood. You have brought back very good memories. Nothing like a live show with a class act. Enjoy Eddie Izzard (wouldn’t mind a bit of that myself!)

  3. draliman says:

    I must admit, Eddie Izzard isn’t one if my absolute favourites, but he puts on a great show and I bet he’ll be amazing live (I’ve only seen him on DVD and that’s nothing like seeing someone live).
    Enjoy!

    • Gilraen says:

      I am looking forward to it. You know how it is with humour (as the performance we went to shows). It is very personal. In fact when we got together SO gave me the DirkJan test http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DirkJan, because it is such quircky humour which is dear to him. Mind you his sense of humour has also been described as of the Donald Duck type 🙂

  4. Pingback: Mr. Izzard | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

