It is spring, despite snow

 

It is a cold early spring. Easter will be cooler than christmas. At the same time we are lucky here. We’ve had a little snow, but always such that it was gone by midday. Yesterday it snowed, more like the odd snowflake floating in the air really.

 

And though the wind has been cold the sun has been shining and the days have been glorious with blue skies and really I am totally loving it. I mean it is almost NZ like where the morning temperature is cold and midday you want to take off you sweater as it is too warm. Walking to work is not exercise, it is pure enjoyment.

 

And when you walk you do see spring coming out, desperately fighting its way forward. Mr and Mrs Coot finding a nice nesting place for the whole city to see. Trees tentatively budding, the odd crocus popping up and just the sun, that glorious early spring sun.

 

But ut us all tentative still, Not much colour in the garden yet. But as we now have upgraded our cat deterrent armoury we see more birds moving in – Mr and Mrs Blackbird and a Great Tit have decided they like the place. I am liking it.

Great Tit

Great Tit (Photo credit: Sergey Yeliseev)

So all in all I think it is still spring, just a very very cold one. Besides it is a 4-day weekend, really what is there not to like?

 

I walk past this nest often. She is smack in the middle of the canal in the touristy area

I walk past this nest often. She is smack in the middle of the canal in the touristy area

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

