The worst part of springtime

Yes even spring has its bad sides. I am not talking this specific spring which has brought us more white fluff than some winters, but something specific to all spring and autumn times. I am talking day-light-savings. Wintertime as far as I am aware is the ‘real’ time, summer time is man invented thing to allow longer nights which tends to be better for sales in cafe’s and pubs.

IMO the person who invented that is an idiot at best and the devil’s spawn that worst. Seriously why? I was waking up nice and early. It was light outside and I was jumping out of bed. So it was dark in the evening – night sort of tends to have that habit. Not an issue. Then the dreaded weekend arrives when people aka society aka culture aka them decided that the clock has to be moved forward for an hour. For what reason? I mean in the winter you turn it back again. So futile!

For me that idea, invented for economic purposes mean being very very tired for a week and forcing my body back into its 6.15 am rhythm. It kinda wrecks me for a whole week. My body wants to go bed later than it ought to, because of the light outside and feels it is not ready to get up in the morning yet.

Sure it takes a week and then I am reasonably fine again, but it is not comfortable.  It feels as a home made jet-lag, not a fan of those. This week was not nice in that department, not helped by an unusual week with either SO or myself out for the evening and us having only one meal together. So I am over my jet-lag now and over this rant too 🙂

Time change at the start of Daylight Saving Ti...

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The worst part of springtime

  1. draliman says:

    Funnily enough I don’t mind it – it doesn’t seem to affect me and I was getting tired of driving to work in the dark!
    I do miss the darker evenings though, and as we move later into the year I will find it hard to get to sleep while it’s still not dark.

    • Gilraen says:

      Lucky you for not being affected. Stangely enough I handle large jet lags (you know the ones to Japan and New Zealand) much better than this one hour only

  2. Pingback: You can join in the fun | jean's writing

Leave a Reply

