Best bread

SO made me one massive compliment. He told me my sourdough bread this weekend was amongst the best breads he ever tasted. WOW.The secret? Simple, listen to the master (the more often mentioned Paul Hollywood). I made the dough last night and it was not feeling right – so I added a little more water than the recipe states. Then all of a sudden the dough got that slinky wonderful feel. More kneading and the elasticity started to come in. First prove was looking ever so good. Second prove was over night which was the experiment of this weekend. I was proving in the baking tin and when we got up this morning the tin was full and the air bubbles could be seen. I was soo scared that I had over-proved it.

When i took it out it of the oven it smelled wonderful. We sliced it about 20 minutes later and it was so fluffy, airy, soft and very flavoursome. We simply could not stop eating it!  SO immediately put in a request for a repeat next weekend.

Seems it is good food to run on too; SO ran a personal best on the 10km this afternoon

. Mind you the sun was out, the temperatures not too bad and generally wonderful. Now – where is that bit of bread left over. I want another slice 🙂

Bread dough which has risen and is ready to go...

Bread dough which has risen and is ready to go in the oven (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Food, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Best bread

  1. draliman says:

    My mouth is actually started to water just reading this. I can almost smell that freshly-baked-bread smell!

  2. maturestudenthanginginthere says:

    It looks wonderful. Will definitely give this recipe a go, thank you for sharing this.

    • Gilraen says:

      You’re welcome. I did buy the sour dough starter (so cheated ever so little) But mainly because making the starter is smelly 🙂

Leave a Reply

