Did not fall off the earth

In fact I have been very busy. Of course there was the party on the 30th of April when we got ourselves a new King. It was a day of fun, a day of joy and a day full of orange. Thankfully the weather was nice and sunny, though a bit cool. We had a blast for the best part. The funfair is just around the corner from our place and BIL and SIL with the girls went there. Of course having a toilet nearby was just helpful. The girls loved our little pond and were ever so sweetly playing on our floor.

As it also MILs birthday we went there in the evening. All of us on the bike and over at MIL we saw the boatparade. It was great fun to watch, though with SO leaning a bit to the republican side he got a bit fed up with the pump and ceremony. Thankfully after a full on day of orange we were pretty much back to normal. Not only that that awful song for the king was also finally dying away. I am proud to say that my place of birth did not sing along!

The day before we went shopping for some new garden seating arrangements. We did not buy anything as we realised that what we wanted and what we wanted were two massively different wants. Talking through it all and seeing all possible set ups we decided to sleep on it. But the good news is we are starting to see what we want and the best part of it is that it is for sale. We are getting there.

Other than that I have bought myself new walking shoes. The other once I wore out. I bought them before we went to NZ in 2011 and used them an awful lot. Thankfully they still had the same ones and in my size, so that was a very quick shop.

I have been perfecting my baking and my bread at present is really really good. So yeah I have been keeping myself busy, just simply forgot to blog about it 🙂

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, Feelings, Food, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Did not fall off the earth

  1. draliman says:

    Don’t forget that once it’s all finished you promised us all a picture of your new garden 😉 !
    I heard a small segment of the song you mentioned for the new king. It was – um – a bit weird!

    • Gilraen says:

      I haven’t forgotten, I am taking pictures to eventually show the whole ‘history’ from start to full bloom.

      The king’s song even gets weirder when you can understand the lyrics 🙂

  2. Miekje says:

    Look up Brigitte Kaandorp’s song of thanks to the old queen. It is amazingly beautiful. It should help you forget the king’s song.

    • Gilraen says:

      I know it and that one should have been the song to sing. It is using the music of Piaf’s: Je ne regrette rien (I do not regeret anything) When I first found it I ended up listening to a load of old French chansons in the afternoon Loved it

Leave a Reply

