Long weekends

We’ve had two long weekends in a row, leaving us also with two three-day working weeks in a row. Many people took holidays, which results in half work as you cannot reach people and half work because there is only so much you can do in three days.

Not only that, weeks like this shatter any normal routine. Sure the good thing about it is some well deserved sleep ins and jobs that get done, But as it is a four-day weekend you eat for four days as if,ย  it was the weekend. As a creature of habit I find that two weeks in a row a bit much (even my blog routine suffers). Next week is a full week and then again a long (albeit three-day) weekend. Having a long weekend is different form taking a me-day off. In part because it is something that affects all and in part because it is not by choice. What is a choice though is how we spend it. The first long weekend was centred around the new king and MILs birthday. This weekend had a dual focus.

Thursday was for running; Both SO and BIL ran the the local 10km race. SO dramatically squashed his personal record with 2 minutes to finish in 50.25 (so utterly proud of him!!!!!!!!) and still looking quite fit. After the race BIL and his friend R plus family came to our place for some much deserved R&R. I’d made a wonderful Cherry crumble pie (comment from SIL, very nice, for once a cake that is not sickly sweet can I have the recipe please) and we had drinks. The combined three daughters (all under 6) loved loved our little pond and played with the water like there was nothing better ever invented. As the pond is quite small and shallow they can play without danger and the next thing we knew they were throwing water all over the terrace to ‘clean’ it, with dirt and sand being thrown in our clear water pond. Uncle SO said it was fine, so now he is cleaning the pond ๐Ÿ™‚ Uncle SO just said this is not going to happen every month with those ladies!

Friday and Saturday were geared to my relatives. We went over to my parents and had a good dinner there. On Saturday I went shopping with mum (she loves doing that). I bought three leggings for yoga, a bikini and a cardigan. All on sale or in the outlet store. The cardigan came in handy as the weather took a turn to cooler and it made me a lot more comfortable in the cool afternoon. SO went shopping with dad for some garden tools he needed. Later in the day we swapped parents when SO took mum to buy some deep fried fish and dad and I just sat around talking. In the afternoon we walked to my brother’s place (as a surprise and to his delight)ย  We went to give my nephews their birthday presents (12 and 16 now) which they happily accepted and then ran upstairs away from adults. Ah puberty such a great time in life. We went home in the evening and relaxed a little.

Today seems to return to a normal Sunday. Which I like. So we are heading out for run a little later and then a normal working week.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Family, fashion, Food, Home life, Sports, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Long weekends

  1. draliman says:

    Sounds great! I’m ashamed to say that I spent the long weekend (it was early Spring Bank Holiday in the UK last weekend) doing absolutely nothing, despite the lovely weather.
    Mmm, cherry crumble pie. You wouldn’t believe how much my mouth is watering right now ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Gilraen says:

      Oh not doing anything in a weekend sounds good, unfortunately our agenda was a little set for us this time.
      The pie is not that hard as it turns out. You can make it, just watch GBBO ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. draliman says:

    Hi, me again! I just nominated you for an award (and I was required to let you know in a comment!). I nominated you because I love reading all about what you’re up to, and seeing all the amazing clothes you sew and food you cook,

  3. Pingback: Running faster | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

