Rain rain rain rain

The weather is not quite what I would have expected around this time of the year. While I am not wearing my winter clothes anymore I am still wearing thin sweaters and our heater has been used. Though I do not mind the temperatures my body does feel confused and out of season. Every morning I look out of the window and wonder what to wear.

On Wednesday I went to see a friend and when I returned home my feet were so utterly cold that could not get them warm.  I got out of bed and got myself my hot water bottle. It is May for heaven’s sake! I am not supposed to be that cold in bed anymore (unless in NZ of course)! So think it is a little funny, but also feels sorry for me and warms me up – he’s a heat radiator at times.

At present it is raining a lot and a lot of people do not like that. The garden does though. Everything green is jumping out of the ground as during the day it is ok-ish in temperature. And it does have a certain something when I walk home and it is hosing down with rain. I have good rain gear and the rain just having a little plinker-di-plonk on my hat is soothing and funny. It has a rhythm and makes that me feel as if I am in my own world. It makes me want to sing; rain rain rain rain, beautiful rain. (see clip at the end of the post). The feeling is also helped by people not being outside so the feeling of being alone with the rain is enhanced.

The fun kinda stopped when a car drove past and flooded me. Sure I stayed dry but it was then that my shoes gave in and I felt the water seeping through into my socks. Instant happy loss. Thankfully this was not far from home so I was not too bothered. I stopped at the greengrocer and had to stay behind the door for a few seconds to allow the rivers of rain to drain off before entering the store. The last leg to home was enough to have to repeat the river diversion behind our front door. Then the best thing of it all; the peeling off the wet stuff, emerging into a warm and cosy world called home. Lovely.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Friends, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rain rain rain rain

  1. Ingrid D. says:

    You should be in Denmark right now, sunny and 21°C!

  2. draliman says:

    It’s the same here in south west UK. Yesterday was typical UK picnic weather. A beautiful start and you think “great day for a picnic” (if it had been a weekend!). Then come lunch time it’s chucking down with rain and you get soaked. When I left for work yesterday it was 6 degrees :-(.
    I have switched the heating back on.

    • Gilraen says:

      I hear near you (Devon) they even had snow a few days back. Snow….in May

      • draliman says:

        Yes, in May! We always check the travel news before leaving work, and just yesterday it said “difficult driving conditions around Bodmin due to snow” (Bodmin is around 25 miles away)!

      • Gilraen says:

        Just weird weather. Oh well keeps us suprised and interested and we always have something to talk about 🙂

Leave a Reply

