Good things come in three and a bit more

It was a special Monday today. Not only because it was Whit Monday, but because SO and I got some major things done.

We started off with “saving some cheese” Last year after the Italian Earthquake a whole lot of parmesan needed to written off and could not be sold as such. However it was entirely edible. Some cheese lovers set up an action and for a good price you could get cheese that was not official Parmesan. This year they repeated the fun and we ordered 1.5 Kg. As it was about an hours drive we decided to get there early and leave the house at 08.00. We were just about the only people on the road. There was a mini country fair there too and a bakery. So apart from the cheese, we lugged some extra ordinary root vegetables, dried goose and venison sausages, pork belly, farm cheeses and some nice bread back into our cave on wheels, aka car.

The next few hours were used for garden furniture shopping. We finally had decided on what we wanted and wanted to order it. This turned out to be not as easy as we had imagined. The first two did not carry our brands, the third one quoted a price 20% above what we’d found on the internet. Now I am all for supporting local retail but 20% really is too much.  So off we went, cave bound, to drop off our country goodies home, have lunch and to place the order. Only to find that the prices we were quoted were ex-BTW (the local sales tax) of 20% and all of a sudden this was not cheap anymore. So located another store that would carry what we wanted and we went there. This was 14.00. Roads were a bit more full by then as was the store. The man in the store made us a good deal and we ordered. Finally we will have suitable furniture for in the garden and then we can dispose of the old, still ok but looking rubbish in the new garden, table and chairs.

I then went upstairs to finish my scrap project. As a sewist I end up with a lot of scraps that are too big to throw out as they ae a useful size, but never get used. So I started project Owl and made three. I stuffed them with the smaller scraps and plan to give them to my nieces and their little cousin. My nephews are too old for them unfortunately. SO then made us a lovely dinner cooking duck with the beetroot we’d bought this morning. It was wonderful to have that after all that we did.

It has been a long day, but it was a splendid one. Next two weeks will be slightly manic for me work-wise but I’ll keep breathing and keep you posted (I hope)

Enhanced by Zemanta

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Food, Home life, Sewing, shopping, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good things come in three and a bit more

  1. draliman says:

    Surely no-one’s too old for one of those wonderfully cute little owls!

    • Gilraen says:

      Thanks for the compliment, but at 12 and 16 they will think it is totally uncool to have them. Most certainly if their aunt made them. It is very much that awkward phase they are in for a while. They’ll grow back into them later 🙂

      • draliman says:

        I was just thinking that! Kids would love them, then they think it’s not cool, then at my age it would be the coolest thing ever to have a home-made owl on the bookcase 🙂

      • Gilraen says:

        I’ll keep that in mind 🙂

  2. Pingback: Eggs anyone? | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

