In the Baltics

We all know that the weather in these parts of Europe has not been quite what we would have liked. It has been colder and wetter than we like and quite frankly everybody is snatching up every ray of sunshine that can be found. And then I had to travel for work to the Baltic, Lithuania to be exact. With packing I had t take not that the temperatures there were about 10 degrees higher than at home. I flew on Tuesday with two co-workers and we had an uneventful trip with stop over there. Turns out that we paid way too much for the taxi trip but you know that that may happen. The hotel was nice enough and clean which is a must for me. In the evening we all went out to dinner at a beer restaurant.

It was as we were walking around Vilnius that I finally realised what an wonderfully pretty city this was. Sure it is a heritage site but that can mean so many things The city is spacious and open, it is lush and green. I liked it. Sure the first day of full sunshine in weeks may have helped my perception but it is going on the list for future reference. As it was a work trip I actually did not get to see much of the city apart from the meeting place and the restaurants, but it was enough to captivate me and wanting a repeat of that visit

Our hotel was half an hour walk from the meeting venue but I did not mind as the walk was gentle and easy. I loved the fact that I could walk there. Glad I did pack my walking shoes though as in my nice shoes I would not have been as positive. Not it felt good. Even with the food (lots) I di not have to feel guilty. Over the next few days I was able to soak up enough sunshine to change colour. It was a good trip there. To return home, well that was a story in itself!

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life, Stuff, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In the Baltics

  1. Miekje says:

    If memory serves me correctly, Vilnius is a ‘Hanzestad’, like Zwolle, Kampen, Copenhagen and Stockholm, so I imagine it must have a similar feel to it as those wonderful cities.

    • Gilraen says:

      It is a Hanze yes. It des give you that sense of timewarp that is common in these cities, but it has it’s own special blend. It is worth a trip

Leave a Reply

