Courses for courses

I love to learn things, new things, different topics, subjects everything. I am still fascinated by knowledge and have these wants to dive into new unexplored (at least for me) topics.

Over the years law has had a certain attraction. In part as in QA you have a lot to do with rules and regulations relating to the company you are working with. You are often responsible for keeping a raft of technical registrations and permits current. These permits and registration are connected to law, so it is good to know some.

As it was part of my job the idea of studying law did come up at times. I did an introductory course for law a few years back and did quite well. I started a course on open university and failed miserably. The first one was only 5 weeks and structured. Needed to put in an assignment weekly, the second was just an exam at the end. There were meet up, just a bit too far away to be comfortable though. From my student days I know I need to hear/see the classes and well others to motivate is also helpful. So I let that idea of studying law go. Besides I am way to busy anyway.

And then Coursera happened. I had been over to the site a few times – free short classes by universities world wide on a huge range of topics. Paradise for a topic junkie like me. Next the course for me started; The Law of the European Union: An Introduction A course by Leiden University. I subscribed, as EU law is important for my current job and I just loved the idea. With me three co-workers and about 40,000 others worldwide subscribed to the course.

The course was not exactly easy peasy. It was work – a few hours per week, with video lectures and quizzes. It was also hard as the course coincided with the emotional shock waves of the last few weeks. I nearly decided to chuck it in as it was too much to catch up. Thankfully my co-workers convinced me to give it a go and to continue. In fact one of them told me that if it had not been for my pulling she would have left the course ages ago so I owed her.

So last weekend I studied hard. I had intended to start Friday, but that is when the last of my shock waves (and the closest) came in. Saturday I was watching the classes making notes and revised. In the evening I finished the one weekly quiz I still had to take. Sunday was crunch time. The final exam. Let me tell you it was hard. I took a break halfway through to accompany SO running by bike and that was good. Around 5pm I submitted the test. I was totally empty and

The legislative triangle of the European Union

The legislative triangle of the European Union (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

exhausted. The best part? I passed with a not to be sniffed at 84%!

Despite the fact that it was hard going studying again and not an easy topic I loved the concept and set up. I have already enrolled in a few more courses for the next few months – will probably not do all of them but you know the intention is there.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Interesting, Learning, Made me think, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Courses for courses

  1. draliman says:

    84% – brilliant! I’m sure that made all the hard work worth while. There’s something quite satisfying when the work and the exam are tough but you come out of it with an amazing mark.

    • Gilraen says:

      It was a huge and I mean huge weight that was lifted off my shoulders when I saw my result and the pass. On Monday evening it all came together nad I just fell asleep almost at the table.

Leave a Reply

