To hot to do anything

I have mentioned before that I am not a summer person. So I am not in luck at present. Work is no fun and I moved from my desk to a spare one (holidays) where it is cooler.

So far I have managed to keep my sleeping pattern reasonable thanks to some interesting internet finds. I knew, of course, that a cold shower before bed is a good one. Used it this week when I returned all overheated from sewing class. But I have also taken to using my hot water bottle in reverse. I am filling it with cold water. Sure it does not radiate like heat does, but it keeps the bed just that little cooler and thus I have slept reasonably well so far. SO is much better in this heat than I am. He’s taken to alcohol free beer with lemon flavour. It sort of tastes as bitter lemon without sugar and white froth instead of bubbles. Kinda weird, but I can see it is good to take away thirst. I of course and drinking water with ice cubes like it is going out of style. Mind you the cubes disappear before your eyes. Too hot to exist for them.

The last two weekends had been full on for me and with the emotional issues that I encountered, so I took friday off. Which was great as my wardrobe is not quite heat wave happy. I took to air conditioned stores and bought myself a T-shirt. Also a less heat wave top that I just fell in love with. Over the weekend I then made a heat wave friendly new simple blouse with interesting sleeves. I also took two boring T-shirts to change. A white one I simply added a lacy ribbon around the neckline and a black one with a pink applique. I also made some lycra running pants. Not to go running, but because they are perfect under skirts when it is very hot to avoid chafing.  So I am set for the rest of the heat wave.

Sure it was too hot over most of the last few days to do anything but Saturday as a notch cooler and that is why I got my sewing done. Our house is OK downstairs, most certainly now we have a sunscreen on the back. Though I admit it is pushing it too now the temperatures rise above 30. So SO is making Gazpacho for tonight’s dinner and we are taking things very easy. I have decided that walking to work is not going to be healthy when it is this hot. Walking to work is fine in the morning, it is the afternoon

Ice cubes in glass

Ice cubes in glass (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

return trip that is a killer and I am not going to do it. Thankfully it looks as if the hot weather is drawing to a close some time this week with rain and a drop in temperatures. As far as I am concerned not a moment too soon.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in fashion, Feelings, Home life, Sewing, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to To hot to do anything

  1. draliman says:

    Glad to see you’ve developed some strategies to cope with the heat!
    It’s supposed to get cooler here as well some time next week (hooray) at which point I shall stop complaining about how hot it is and start complaining that it’s summer, why is it so cold? 🙂

  2. jacquelinehanginginthere says:

    I like this post. Like you I’m not really a summer person – which is just as we’ll living in Scotland! However we have also had hot weather here so, like you, I’ve been wilting a bit. Will try your cold shower tip oh and will also pass one on that works for me …. When I’m working at my desk I take my shoes off. It’s amazing how much cooker it makes you feel!

    • Gilraen says:

      I do that one too! Works like a charm.
      I even on occasion forget to put them back on, It is not until I get some weird looks that I remember 🙂

      • jacquelinehanginginthere says:

        Lovely to hear from you! I hope, despite the heat, life is being kind to you an your SO.

      • Gilraen says:

        It is, just miss reading your adventures. 🙂

      • jacquelinehanginginthere says:

        As thank you. Going to write a blog later as just back from a wonderful trip to Belfast so will bring you up to date. Of late I’ve kind of felt a bit strange about writing as I’ve discovered that Peter reads my blog and it makes me feel a bit uncomfortable. But hey I can’t do anything about that and I’m happy and have stuff to say and make no apology for that. Watch this space!

Leave a Reply

