Teething revisited

 

It was not that long ago, really it was not. I told all of you about my little tiny teething problem and how I managed to survive that in a painless manner.

 

So given the positive outcome why not try that one again? Oh yes I am deadly serious and this time with a spanner in the works. How did this happen? Well last night I was out with a couple of girlfriends having a fun dinner. I had a great mediterranean  meal containing raisins and apricots. Very nice indeed and all of a sudden my tooth said clunk, crack and I felt ouch! I think it was a small pit in a raisin.

 

I knew that sound, I knew that pain and yes I was right. I’d broken a tooth. In fact I had broken the one right beneath the previous one. Can you just believe my luck. Thankfully I was not in pain, making me believe that the nerve was not open and that I really was facing the same issue from 5 months ago.  Given that it was about 22.00 I had no option but to sleep on it.

 

I called my dentist at 9.00 as soon as the surgery opened, which it did not. Turns out my dentist is on a holiday until the 19th of August. Their message did refer me to another dentist for emergencies, which I called. They were able to fit me in over lunch. So just before 12.00 I left work and cycled home as I needed my insurance identity card and €250 in cash as a bond. The latter is because I am not their patient and they don’t want to run the risk of not being paid (charming, right?).

 

Over the last few weeks it has been very hot indeed. Just tropical and dry. As luck would have it the first huge downpour was right above me when I cycled from home to the dentist. I had my rain suit with me, but before I had it on I managed to get nicely drenched. So I arrived soaking wet and somewhat worried because it was a dentist I did not know. As far as I was aware he could be a pure dentaldevil of dentalangel or anything in between. He turned out to be the latter. Ever so nice and gentle. He checked my tooth, removed sharp edges and booked me in for Monday for the build up that I had before. Initially he only wanted to do an emergency filling but as my dentist is away for another three weeks and I am away after that I told him to do the job and that is that.

 

So here I am just before the weekend with a half hole in my mouth. Twice within 6 months. I am so not happy about this, but I am very happy that in both cases the tooth can be saved.

An image from 1300s (A.D.) England depicting a...

An image from 1300s (A.D.) England depicting a dentist extracting a tooth with forceps. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Teething revisited

  1. Oh Gilraen, teeth – you have all my sympathy.

  2. draliman says:

    Oh no, not another tooth emergency! One of my front teeth got chipped a while ago (no idea how) and like you, no pain. I have become “used to it”. Well done for actually getting yours sorted out!

    • Gilraen says:

      Do get it checked out. It is only a little trouble. A little problem can lead to a lot of pain later. Take it from sobody that spent a weekend in total agony for neglecting to go to the dentist when I had an emergency filling pop out (after 10 years)

  3. Poor you, I almost didn’t want to like this! I too am having tooth cracking problems. My dentist filled it three weeks ago with something to ‘ calm it down’ ….I think it’s me not the tooth which needs calming 🙂 I go back on Thursday to see if he can fill it….or whether its root canal work 😦 I’m really not very good with teeth!

    • Gilraen says:

      Neither am I really. Just know that it is good for me, but really it the good me pulling my scared me kicking and screaming with her. A real internal struggle.
      Good me wins most times

  4. Pingback: Dental issues again | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

