Isn’t she lovely?

Birthdays are special days. Even for us als non birthday celebratory people we try to make it special for each other. As it is SO and I are only 2.5 weeks apart in birthdays and to boot in the middle of a family birthday flood (1 dad, 2 nieces, 1 SIL, 2 friends, 2 co-workers) in the time span of 3.5 weeks. We usually think that is enough and just leave ours out.

But circumstances meant that this year we did celebrate SO’s birthday. Nothing too grand just easy peasy in the garden with the Egg. Of course this meant again making all sauces with SO excelling himself on real ketchup and marinated meat etc. However a birthday is not a birthday without a birthday cake.

I was in charge of the cake as he was the birthday boy. And this is it, a lovely carrot cake. Why a carrot cake – well it is something that I had wanted to make for some time now, so I did. Mary Berry was of course the recipe provider and it turned out lovely, moist and pretty. Next time I want more carrot in there though. But it most certainly is one that I will make more often as it was easy and ever so tasty.

My carrot cake for SO It was very very nice

My carrot cake for SO It was very very nice

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

