Picking up the pace again

Starting up after a holiday is always hard. This week was no exception to that. Some things made it slightly harder.

Firstly I have a new manager. Nothing dramatic, but right after a holiday that takes instant getting used to each other and of course things ever so slightly change.

Secondly the weather showed that autumn really does follow summer. On Tuesday I managed to get drenched four times; to and from work and to and from yoga. Next day my rainwear was still slightly damp! The wind was also something to get re-acquainted with. Oh yes, now I remember, this is how it feels to have wind howling around your face and head on. Having said all that the colours are changing too. From a total green blob we now see yellow and red hues appearing and lots of those are on the ground. Temperatures have dropped to more convenient levels for moving and walking.

Then there was the health stress. Before we went to France I had my eyes rechecked (bi-annual event) and selected new frames. However they also told me to have my eyes further checked as the eye pressure was a little high. This can be an indicator for glaucoma. This weekend I had my major check up and all is fine. Nothing out of the ordinary. The eyep ressure within normal paramters. No matter how often I told myself it would be alreight, I was nervous and somewhat scared. SO was a pillar of strength, but he too was worried. After the test, which involves eye drops that irritate the eye I was completely metally exhausted. SO drew me a bath. I kept my eyes closed most of the evening and then I slept off all those worries.

Today it was the first time that in a long time that SO and I went out together for his training. He had not been in high intensity training and with the heat and only 5km rums I just did not come and sewed instead. But today or 8km I did come. I just needed to be out, needed to see those wonderful colours of autumn coming into reality and I loved it. The rest of the day was spend baking bread (me) and making Bolognese (SO). Today was that little break needed so soon after coming back, because life picked up pace rather a bit over the top quickly.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Picking up the pace again

  1. draliman says:

    I hate coming back after a holiday as well but usually get back into it within a day or so and it feels like I’ve never been gone. It would be different with a new boss, though.
    As you said, the weather has changed quite quickly and drastically!

    • Gilraen says:

      I know the feeling. I know it has only been just a week, but rushing around as if I have never been away. *sigh* I need a holiday 🙂

Leave a Reply

