Comfort food

When Friday comes the weekend starts and really all we want is to drop everything and to relaxWith this feeling comes a feeling of needing easy food, preferably combined with some TV, major coccooning therefore. This week no different and even a bit more. SO was starting with sniffles, we had both worked too hard the whole week etc. Comfort food can be anything from Camembert to take away or home delivery. But always has a certain messy or hand eating factor associated with it. However appealing take away of home delivery can be when you are tired, I do resist it as much as I can. In my thoughts even home made takeaway-type grub is better than having it delivered. Quite possibly this is untrue, but it is my thought pattern

This Friday I had had an interesting meeting in the morning and had taken the afternoon off, because I’d worked last Saturday. As I was off I was in charge of food. Walking through the store I had no idea what to make. Did not want to make something that involved slow cooking and not the normal potato, veg and meat pattern. All of a sudden I knew what I wanted to make; Nacho’s!

Now my nacho’s involve lots maizecrisps (dorito’s), beans, meat maize, paprika, a big scoop of chilli powder, cheese and sour cream. All neatly stacked on top of each other and gradually becoming an enormous mess as you eat it. Personally I love it when the crisps are going totally soggy and goey. It is never possible to eat this meal in a very posh way, but by the goey stage really it is is hard to even eat it in any way that does not involve hands and sour cream everywhere

When SO came home he was so enthusiastic as it is a meal that is just not in his range of ideas, but is in mine. In part this is because I had the student grub education (throw everything together and call it a meal), whereas SO did not. He lived at home when he was a student. I prepared it while SO switched the TV on got our lounge ready for comfort food. As we sat down in front of the TV with our plate full of happy Friday comfort food I knew this was the best choice.
We loved having this, though it is the sort of food you should not want to eat daily. Yet it has an immediate effect on just feeling happy that the weekend time is there again.

And now we have weekend. SO is off today with a friend to an exhibition and I am going to go to my little sewing corner. Because I learned this week that my sewing classes will start again (long story, sewing teacher was without venue for some time) and I just don’t want the project that I started toward the end of the last session to still be my project when class starts again.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Food, Home life, Pampering, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Comfort food

  1. draliman says:

    Snuggled up at home eating nachos sounds perfect!
    I’m glad your sewing class is starting up again.

    • Gilraen says:

      Me too. It is agreat motivator. I do not want to still be working on the project I started last spring. It has move along and I will finish it before the month is out!

  2. Ooh that sounds delicious. I have never made anything like that but every now and then a good film and that sort of grub … delicious!

    • Gilraen says:

      I know, it is pure indulgence when you do. Just every so often, and then savour the feeling of pure heppy weekend starts.

Leave a Reply

