Happy books!

It should not come as a surprise that I state yet again “I love cooking baking etc” My place of stress relief and place of creativity. But it needed a new impulse ………… or 2.

It all started when I found out that my favourite from the 3rd series of GBBO was going to write a book about baking bread. James Morton, the cheeky medical student with a love of bread decided to write a book for and by the home baker. No sooner had this news reached my computer (and me) or my finger had magically typed in the amazon website and place a pe-order.

Now Amazon has this tricksy thing on its website; If you like this then maybe you like that. Usually I am quite strong and stubborn enough to completely discard that level of targeted marketing. Really I am pretty good at that. However this time something showed up that really peaked my interest. A book called Great British Bakes – forgotten treasures for modern bakers by Mary-Anne Boermans – series 2 GBBO finalist. Somehow I always side with the ones that do not win.

Mary-Anne I liked because she was so clearly passionate about the baking but also so incredibly knowledgeable. Furthermore she’d written a book about old recipes. Forgotten classics. Oh dear my love of history was also starting to kick in. Without me realising I had again clicked the please order area and within two or three steps I had bought the books.

How unusual for me to be like this on line. These books must be special. Unfortunately both were on pre-order and had a significant time period to wait. I ordered in August and last week James Morton’s Brilliant Bread arrived and it was splendid. I took the book to bed with me and all of a sudden SO and I were reading a little in bed again. We’d not done so for ages. Strangely SO was also a cooking related book. Possibly we are a little weird. Anyway the book reads well and I am reading bits and bobs as it goes. Not into the recipes just yet.

Today the second book arrived! Yes it is as wonderful as I had hoped, With her journey into history as well as the recipes and the book is also a little old-fashioned in its form. I love it. It has a lot of stuff around the recipes and I am going to read it all. Back to front.

I am so happy with my new inspiration books and both of them were so worth the wait. So logging off now…………going to read

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Food, Friends, Home life, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy books!

  1. Pingback: Pink Bread | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

