Then there is the Doctor

Recently Netflix entered our lives and with it control over what we wanted to see when. This is specifically helpful with one of my all time favourite TV series Dr Who.

Now I did not grow up with Dr Who the way many did in the UK, because I was not there. I remember episodes and doctors over the years, but not many. The ones in the seventies I recall vaguely but found quite scary Specifically those dreaded Daleks. I did see some in the 80’s as I spend some summers in the UK and grew to like it a lot. But always it is in bits and bobs that I saw stuff. Never really managed to fully follow a companion of a timeline.

The 2005 reboot was when I got to really really like it. But it was hard to stay on top of the series. Life meant that series got out of synch and time differences with the UK (and other life interferences) meant that we only caught the odd episode. At times we aw three for four but never a whole series. Thankfully it can be watched in chunks as timelines cross there too. however with Netflix we are no re-running all episodes when en how we like it, but in the right order. Sometimes two in a row when it is a double episode (hate cliff hangers)

But but but then there all of a sudden was the 50th anniversary episode this weekend. SO and I decided to sit down and watch. It was hard for us to follow in some ways as it tracks back to a lot of earlier episodes we did not (yet) see. But also it flashes back to some things I had seen heard, but not registered as such yet.

Anyway we were (like many in the UK) watching this episodes. Saw how many storylines converged and new ones were opened. Bad wolf keeps hanging around and I think we have not seen the last of Billy Piper as such. We loved the special effects and we had a great evening with many new questions for us. At present reading lots of Wikipedia to fill the voids in my Dr Who knowledge and loving every second of it.  Looking forward to watching more Dr Who from the past and new Doctors in the future.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Feelings, Home life, Review, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Then there is the Doctor

  1. draliman says:

    I am a huge Dr Who fan and have all the new stuff and a fair amount of the original stuff on DVD/Blu-ray. However, I have not yet seen yesterday’s anniversary episode! I was out at a family meal.
    I am saving it until this evening as I feel it would be wrong to just watch it – I need to build up the suspense properly!

  2. miekje says:

    There are lots of Dr Who-related patterns on Ravelry, such as the original Tom Baker scarf, and even a lace shawl with Daleks! I just love fandom crafting.

    • Gilraen says:

      Me too, but for now time to make the stuff is what eludes me. Just three and a half more weeks before I have some time off. In that time I have to finish my Christmas outfit first 🙂
      I do admit though the Tom Baker Scarf is an idea. Love it!

Leave a Reply

