Neglected

It has been a few weeks since my last entry. Lack of time, tiredness and stress have kept me away.

The restructuring at my company has been stressful with lots of changes and new procedures associated with it. That on top of a heavy workload and busy social schedule make that I have been awfully tired lately. In fact I am counting the days to christmas as that is when my holidays (2.5 weeks) start.

Some good things have happened. SO ran two 15km runs and did so in times that were acceptable considering he had been missing a lot of his training sessions, because he too has had a heavy workload. My sewing teacher has started classes again and I finished my silk jacket for christmas on time (just). Took longer because of my fear of working with that wonderful material.

We have our christmas tree up. Of course it is lovely and for the first time in 7 years we managed to buy one that was too large for our lounge so we had to take the top out. But it is a magnificent tree; majestic even. When we were ready to put the lights in we found that the lights were no longer working.  Thank heavens this happened at the “let’s check before we put them in” stage, but at a time when shops had closed. SO the next morning we got some new ones (and some more stuff for in the tree of course). The new ones are LED and it must be said nicer and brighter and to top it off easier to put into the tree.

The rest of the time I am afraid was filled with work and desperately trying to relax.

 
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Christmas, Decisions, Feelings, Home life, Made me think, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Neglected

  1. draliman says:

    Take it easy, don’t wear yourself out. At least you have your time off to look forward to!
    How can you tell us how magnificent your tree is and then not post a picture? 🙂

  2. jacquelinehanginginthere says:

    Hang in there girl. You’re tree sounds fab. Your SO has done fabulously with the running and you both have time off to look forward to. When you get home tomorrow have a nice meal and then sit down by your tree with only the new lights on, put all the others off and marvel at how beautiful it is. It’s a de-stressed if ever there was one.

    • Gilraen says:

      Very true. it does give a relaxation. Just glad it is over and have all these ideas of not wanting to repeat this next year. Only time will tell if we fall into the same time trap again though

Leave a Reply

