The image in the mirror

Yesterday we had a day made for shopping. As it was SO had to go into work for a few hours. This was anticipated and not a biggie. We’d decided I’d go into the nearby city and he’d meet me there.So I was in town by 11 am. Just as stores opened. It is that time that I prefer for shopping as it is easy to get around, find a place to fit and people to help. I am not a big fan of shopping, just industrial shopping and I hate shopping in crowds. So this was good for me. I went into the sales from the bijenkorf and generally was quite turned off by the hum-ha dark grey/black and depressing colours that were on display. Then I saw myself in the mirror with my grey turtleneck on my red pants and really that did not cheer me up either. Something clicked and I said to myself; ‘if what you see in the mirror does not cheer you up, you need to change it’

Easier said than done to be honest but the Benetton part of the store managed to do that. I bought a bright blue sweater on 50% discount. It just matched my pants and it cheered me up tremendously

From there it was fabric shopping. I have a few pants that need replacement as they are either fading or falling apart (walking had a detrimental effect on most) I found some wonderful if not cheap fabric and also fabric for a Burda top I just fell in love with. I found a place to sit down and SO picked e up there. Form there we went to buy hims some sweaters as recently he lost a few loved ones. One his elbow developed a hole and though he can still wear it because of the patches I put on it is a housesweater now. The other is a wee bit small now. There was fat on it and I tried everything to get it out and preserve the wool. Wool setting on my machine, in water with ossengal etc etc. All tricks were used even the ones on internet :-). In the end it was either wash it too hot and get it out and hope it would not shrink or throw it away. In a well it is a desperate attempt I did put it in the washing machine and   it did shrink, was clean though. but it looked bad. End of story there.  He found two new ones though and a new suit.

On our way out of town we picked up some more fabric for me and that was that. But anyway it cheered me up having a bright blue sweater in my wardrobe again. It does worry me though that it has taken me 2 whole weeks to come back to a level which I would consider normal. Need to do something about that. Dressing a bit more cheerful will help me I think. I mean if the image in the mirror is making me cheerful and I like what I see it will make me feel better and that will help me again. Wearing bright pink today 🙂

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, fashion, Feelings, Home life, Sewing, shopping, Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The image in the mirror

  1. draliman says:

    I hate shopping in crowds too. I usually rock up at around 0815, get my hair cut (I usually only go into town and get everything done when I have to go in for a hair cut anyway!) and am back home by 1030.

  2. Robin says:

    I like that Burda top. It’s cute. I don’t like shopping in crowds, either. Come to think of it, I really don’t like shopping. 🙂

Leave a Reply

