Knitting

As is known I knit, as do some of my friends. It has much in common with sewing and it is also different, the people are also kinda different and still the same.I’ll explain: People involved in both tend to love the feel of textile, manipulating the textiles to become something more. The use of imagination to see what something becomes and the creativity of thinking all through. However I always have the impression that the sewists have a connection with fashion and often less with the source whereas the knitters seem have a greater focus the craft a link with the farm almost – the wool source. I like both, but I often feel as if that makes me a little bit of an outsider in both groups.

For knitting of course I have my friend Miekje, but she is far away and my co-worker N and I do share knitting war stories. Truth be told both ladies are much more prolific in knitting than I am, but neither of them has sewing as the other hobby, though N does want to give it a go sometime.  N and I have been out to the crafty side before

I told N about the breidagen in Amersfoort at work and she looked at it and suggested we’d go together. I am game!. So on Saturday we met at the station and took the train to Amersfoort. As it is a station that I visit frequently I knew the way and we soon arrived at the place. Now it is 2014 and we are a highly digital/plastic society. I was gobsmacked that there were no debit card facilities at all, In fact no money withdrawal machine either. 75% of the stalls did not have debit facilities. As a person who hardly ever carries cash and if I do very little this was beyond amazement. I really felt drawn into an immense time warp!

I ended up with wool. The lady at the stand was so lovely. I told her I would order on line as she had no pin facilities. She instead offered for me to take the wool of my choice and pay her directly into her account with banking facilities when I got home. The huge trust! I accepted and of course I paid as soon I got home. What wool did I buy? I bought Olland cerise and grey wool. It will be a large shawl in a traditional nordic pattern. Nice for in house in winter.

I am noticing that I just love the real full wool. Yes it is often more coarse but it just feels right and is honest. I am also quite strongly buying in favour of buying European grown, dyed and spun in that respect. This type of wool is often a small community effort. I enjoy the fact that this small industries within the heavy industrialised society that we have are supported.

Afterward we went out for lunch and of course work and all its issues featured heavy in our conversations. I was home by 16.00 and felt really happy with my new wool. So where can I buy some more time in the day please? I’l pay by debit card.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, fashion, Feelings, Home life, Knitting, Stuff, Weekend, Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knitting

  1. draliman says:

    Wow, it’s amazing to see trust like that in this day and age. It was indeed a very old-school place!

  2. Miekje says:

    I was recently at a wool and sheep event (yes, knitters do indeed like sheep) and many vendors were having difficulty with their card facilities due to the low strength mobile signal (the venue was rather rural), but one of my friends had a Samsung Note (?) and we managed to pay various vendors by Paypal using her phone! Very handy, especially since I had indeed spent all the cash that I had purposefully brought along.

    • Gilraen says:

      When it comes to wool your ability to resist it is even lower than mine 🙂 But a good idea using paypal. Sadly the paypal uptake here is not that great

  3. Miekje says:

    It wasn’t even wool I was coveting, it was 2 hand-turned drop spindles out of local Cambridgeshire wood. Irresistible 🙂

  4. Pingback: Finished a knitting project | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

