Floral splendour

It had been a while since I’d seen my friend N. We had not fallen out or anything. Just life gets in the way. She’s busy with her family and career, as am I and we live about 2 hours away from each other.

In the past I have had the occasional meeting in her hometown and we’d meet up for dinner. But the number of meetings there had dropped and/or had been at mutually unsuitable times. In the past we’d have our days together, a return to more innocent student days, as shopping days. However the last few ones we ended up mainly talking and wanting to drink more tea. Just like we did when we were students and were way to poor to go shopping.

So when we decided on a get together the date was the first hurdle and we decided that late March was going to be it. Next we had to decide where and what. After mulling over multiple cities, to-do things and other nah not likely things I suggested the Keukenhof. She loved the idea! She’d never been there. (I had once) and it is about halfway for the both of us meeting at Schiphol airport.

I was early, she was earlier. I guess being late for a day with me once, was enough for her. So easy we hopped on t the bus at the airport which transported us straight to the entry of the Keukenhof. There of course, with the early spring, about 90% was already looking splendid. It was a glorious spring day. Really it was. It was warmish and it was sunny. We had walked through the park, had fun and had several coffees. Oh yes and we took pictures.

All in all a lovely day away. We both loved the place and the precious time together.

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Friends, Home life, Sewing, Stuff, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

