Second anniversary weekend

Well it was not a second anniversary as such, but they second one in a row for us. Just the next weekend up from my in-laws.

My friends B and J had their 12,5 years (copper) anniversary this year. They decided to celebrate in quite a different way. Their honeymoon had taken them to Portugal and they had brought two bottles of port home One for their copper anniversary and one for their silver one.

They invited their witnesses and now growing families to share that bottle with them. As I had been B’s witness we were also invited. And if course that brings back memories. That wedding was in 2001 and I was in the country (from NZ) for a few weeks. It was just after 9/11 and people did ask me if I was not afraid to fly, but really I was not. I attended their wedding and my brother’s a week later. It was two days before B&Js wedding that SO and met as friends for the first time face to face. Little did we know of what the future would hold. But we both remember that day fondly and as a happy day where two people did find each other fun to be around. My world has changed so much since then.

My brother and his wife divorced in early 2008. I no longer live in NZ and am happily married to that man who was just a friend I’d met on line. I am in a completely different line of work and looking back in a much better place than I was back then. Still that specific week, well let’s just say it still brings a smile to my face.

We’d decided we wanted to go as we like these people a lot, but not too long as we were both exhausted still (I’d had an international meeting that week that I’d organised). But it was good. We got to sit in the rather overgrown garden. ~Turns out they had not done anything to it as they finally managed to sell their house. It ahs taken them 3 years in total. But they are moving and they are moving closer to us! Not that they are far out now (just an hour) but it will save about 15 minutes. It is in a different direction and psychologically much closer than that.

This anniversary was no grand affair. Apart from us 4 there were 5 other adults and 6 children. Most of those we know. It was a nice friendly catching up affair and we did note that we haven’t had much time for that over recent times and that makes me sad. I love spending time with friends, but somehow it has been a little last on the list for some time. So it was good to see them. Next visit will be to their new place and I for one am looking forward to that already.

This little gentle affair was again followed by a Sunday resting day that was much needed. Because really the week after………….

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Decisions, Feelings, Friends, Home life, Made me think, Wedding, Weekend and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

