To the vikings

Both SO and I travel for work and sometimes we manage to go to places not too far apart and mix and match a nice weekend in. But so far we have never travelled to the same place at the same time. But you know things do change and things happen.

I was sent to Oslo this year for 4 days all in all. Oslo, one of those cities that does not feature high on most people’s to do list. Often as it is considered rather expensive (true) and cold (well in winter yes) and possibly even dull (so utterly not true).

SO was going to be on Oslo the Monday after my meeting. Now that is a weekend away made by business opportunities. Plus given our madness few months as well as it being our 7th anniversary of living together we decided that this was going to be the weekend to be away. Let’s celebrate!

On Monday the day before I was due to leave SO’s meeting was cancelled.We decided to go ahead with our plans anyway and for SO to take the Monday off too.

I arrived on Tuesday and quickly found my hotel. The hotel was fine. I was lucky to have my room at the back and the peace was worth overlooking the parking area.  It was fun arriving behind the national theatre as one of the things I noticed was the sign saying Peer Gynt! Oh immediately memories flooded back. That evening I managed to find my whole group and we went out for dinner. We were all amazed that it was such a lovely open and light city. It felt busy without being crowded. People walking without it feeling as if they interfere with personal space. Plus as it is up north the day was rather a lot extended form what we are used to. It also meant that we stayed out for dinner longer than anticipated.

My meetings were just out of town but easy to reach by public transport. We had good food while we were there and I was totally looking forward to the weekend when SO would be with me to further explore the city in ways that cannot be done while on business. We had amazing weather throughout the week and noticed a few things;

Early lunch. Norwegians have lunch earlier than we are used to. The cafeteria was open from 11.00-13.00. At work ours is an hour later and further south even 2 hours later. Interesting difference. Much more space and better views in Oslo. I wished I could get my workplace into a place like that magnificent. Yes I liked the place.

On Friday we all said our goodbyes and I finished most of the work I needed doing before the weekend. At around 19.30 there was a knock on the door. There was my SO, Our weekend away had started.

As SO had not had dinner yet we went out for something to eat. We ended up at the hard Rock Cafe where we had some very expensive junk food. It was good, but really the only reason we went there was because all the terraces were full! Nice sunny days and there is no holding Norwegians indoors. After dinner we had a walk around and SO found the hotel where he has stayed a few times. We were amazed that it was so close to where we were. Not in a bad way though.  We walked for about an hour and then went to the hotel. We went to sleep to get started on what was an amazing wonderful weekend.

 

 

About Gilraen

My blog is simply about my life. I moved countries for the first time in 1993. I lived in the Netherlands, UK and NZ. The initial idea was to keep my overseas friends up-to-date with what was going on in my life. The blog, like me, is always changing and evolving.
This entry was posted in Home life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to To the vikings

  1. Pingback: Well I did promise | Gilraensblog

Leave a Reply

